New Zealand Cricket: It's a knockout! | cricexec

New Zealand Cricket: It’s a knockout!

Must Read



Hagley Oval, Christchurch


It’s down to three – and by the end of this Thursday, only two teams will be left standing.

The first of The Ford Trophy Finals is nearly here, Canterbury set to host southern rivals the Otago Volts tomorrow (Thursday) at Hagley Oval in a sudden-death playoff to join top qualifier the Auckland Aces in Sunday’s televised Grand Final.

It will be the third time this summer that the two sides have gone head to head at Hagley Oval, going in with a 1-1 ledger from the regular season.

The match is free admission with gates open from 10am. Hosts Canterbury have made just one change to the squad that was named before they thumped the Central Stags by nine wickets to secure the 2v3 knockout hosting rights as second qualifier, although they have also missed out on regaining the valuable services of regular captain Cole McConchie who has broken an arm in a New Zealand A training session.

Experienced left-arm quick Ed Nuttall replaces Fraser Sheat in the 13, Canterbury stand-in captain Andrew Ellis looking to stay on track to reclaim the trophy he last lifted won three seasons ago, when he was the regular captain at the Grand Final in Rangiora against the Firebirds and his side finally broke a lengthy one-day title drought.

The Volts are also no strangers to a List A title drought, having last won the trophy in 2009.

Southern hopes were high after they were last summer’s top qualifiers, the Volts contesting a gripping Grand Final on a Dunner-stunner day in Dunedin.

It was regarded as one of greatest Grand Finals yet, but ultimately, they were nudged for the crown by the Firebirds.

While the Firebirds went on to pick up this season’s Dream11 Super Smash trophy, they are no longer in contention for the 50 overs honours this season so, no matter what the result of tomorrow’s game, New Zealand will have a new Ford Trophy champion in 2020.

The Volts have expanded their 12 from the last round to 13, regaining New Zealand A stars Hamish Rutherford, Nathan Smith and Michael Rae at the expense of Cam Hawkins and Angus McKenzie.

Road to the Elimination Final

ROUND 1 – no result v Central Stags in Palmerston North, conceded 349/4 before rain

ROUND 2 – beat Northern Districts by 83 runs at Hamilton

ROUND 3 – beat Otago Volts by 117 runs in Christchurch

ROUND 4 – beat Northern Districts by 1 run in Christchurch

ROUND 5 – beat Auckland Aces by 184 runs in Christchurch

ROUND 6 – beat Auckland Aces by 4 runs in Auckland (Colin Maiden Park)

ROUND 7 – lost to Wellington Firebirds by 6 wickets at Wellington

ROUND 8 – lost to Wellington Firebirds by 22 runs at Wellington

ROUND 9 – lost to Otago Volts by 23 runs in Christchurch

ROUND 10 – beat Central Stags by 9 wickets in New Plymouth

Road to the Elimination Final

ROUND 1 – beat Northern Districts by 28 runs DLS at Hamilton

ROUND 2 – lost to Wellington Firebirds by 5 wickets at Queenstown

ROUND 3 – lost to Canterbury by 117 runs in Christchurch

ROUND 4 – lost to Auckland Aces by 97 runs in Lincoln

ROUND 5 – beat Wellington Firebirds by 2 runs in Lincoln

ROUND 6 – beat Central Stags by 125 runs in Dunedin

ROUND 7 – lost to Central Stags by 55 runs in Nelson

ROUND 8 – match abandoned against Northern Districts in Dunedin

ROUND 9 – beat Canterbury by 23 runs in Christchurch

ROUND 10 – beat Auckland Aces by 210 runs in Dunedin

PlayedWonLostTiedNo ResultAbandonedBonus PointsTotal PointsNet Run Rate
1 Auckland Aces10640004280.46
2 Canterbury10540103250.08
3 Otago Volts10540012240.21
4 Northern Districts10540012240.00
5 Wellington Firebirds10550001210.01
6 Central Stags1027010010-0.84

Order in the Table Determined by: 1. Total Points, 2. Number of Wins, 3. Number of Bonus Points, 4. Net Run Rate (NRR – NRR For minus NRR Against over the whole competition)

Points Awarded: Won – 4, Lost – 0, Tied – 2, No Result – 2, Abandoned – 2, Bonus Point (Run Rate 1.25x Opponents’) – 1Elimination Final – Otago Volts won by 6 runsGrand Final – 16 Feb 2020

1D Conway553
2Jack Boyle491
3N Broom432
4C Bowes428
5H Cooper417
6R O’Donnell389
7Colin Munro388
8Nick Kelly374
9George Worker371
10D Foxcroft364


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Coaching call ups – Lions Cricket pack more power into the Pride

Photo Credit: Lions Cricket Lions Cricket are proud to welcome their newest teammates in former players Trisha Chetty and Allan...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter