ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League – FAQs

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

What is the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League?

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, which gets underway with the ODI series between England and Ireland in Southampton on 30 July 2020, is the pathway to the next Men’s Cricket World Cup scheduled for India in October-November 2023.

Which teams are participating in the championship?

This is a 13-team tournament featuring all 12 ICC Full Members and the Netherlands, who qualified by winning the 2015–17 ICC World Cricket League Championship featuring Associate Members.

Why has the Super League been introduced?

The Super League adds context to the ODIs played between World Cups. The qualification for the World Cup is the incentive for teams to be at their best.

Why is the Super League starting now, and what is the way forward?

The start of the Super League was delayed due to Covid-19. As part of our contingency planning, we continue to work with Members to find windows where the rescheduled qualifying series can be safely and practically rescheduled. Further updates on the Super League and its fixtures will be shared in due course, after a discussion with Member Boards.

What is the format of the Super League?

Each team plays a series of three ODI matches against eight of the 12 other teams, thus figuring in 24 matches each in the championship. Teams play four series at home and four away, ensuring a variety of oppositions, venues and equal home advantage.

Who from the Super League will qualify for the 2023 World Cup?

Hosts India and the next seven highest placed teams will qualify automatically for the 2023 World Cup.

If a team doesn’t finish in the top seven does it mean they don’t qualify for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023?

The five sides failing to qualify directly will play along with five Associate sides in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023, with two teams from the Qualifier making it to the 10-team World Cup in India.

What is the points system?

Each team gets 10 points for a win, five for a tie/no result/abandonment and none for a loss.
Teams will be ranked according to total points earned across the eight series. There are criteria in place to separate two or more teams on equal points.

Is there a knockout phase of the Super League?

No. A knockout phase is not required because only the top seven apart from India need to be determined from the League Table.

Is the ICC organising the Super League?

No. This is an arrangement of bilateral series for which a points system has been worked out after a discussion with Members.

Are all ODI matches part of the Super League?

No. Only the matches identified as part of it will count towards the championship.

What about the MRF Tyres ICC ODI Team Rankings?

The rankings will continue since it includes teams outside of these 13 participating teams. The points table of this championship is independent of the team rankings.

Who has the broadcast rights for the Super League?

The broadcast rights are with Member Boards and revenues shared as per their respective agreements.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA statement on SABC India tour broadcast

Cricket South Africa regrets to announce that it is unable to strike a deal with the SABC to broadcast...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter