Sydney Thunder: BBL|10 fixtures confirmed

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Thunder

Thunder set to start BBL|10 in Canberra

The KFC Big Bash League has demonstrated its commitment to taking Australia’s most-watched sporting competition to fans around the country with the announcement of its revised schedule today.

The match-ups, start times and broadcasters for all KFC BBL|10 regular season games have been confirmed, with venues in ACT, Tasmania, Queensland and South Australia locked in for the 21 matches to be played in December.


Venues for matches scheduled in the New Year will be announced in the coming weeks. The League hopes the easing of border restrictions around the country will allow matches to be played in every state throughout the tournament. The health and safety of players, staff and fans will always remain the number one priority.

Sydney Thunder plays its first five matches at Manuka Oval in Canberra – an important part of Thunder Nation’s territory as the Club’s second home – against the Melbourne Stars on December 12.

“It’s so good to start off on what is also our home ground, and Manuka is a great place to play,” said Thunder coach, Shane Bond. “It has a great wicket, and the boys love playing there.

“It’s also exciting for our fans from Canberra and the surrounding area to have the chance to watch us play.

“We’re hopeful to play games in Sydney at the back half of the season, and if that happens we’d consider ourselves lucky because that’d mean we’ll have played a lot of games at our home grounds and in front of our great Members and supporters.”

All matches will be broadcast live on Foxtel, with the Seven Network airing 18 matches in December live.

Information regarding tickets will be released in due course.

Sydney Thunder Members will have priority access to purchase tickets and receive a 20% discount. Memberships are on sale now from $40. Click here to check out all packages.

“This is without doubt the most complex fixturing task ever undertaken by the League and we are excited with where it has landed. It has been a difficult year for so many people around Australia and we look forward to bringing the BBL to every state should border conditions allow us to,” said Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues, Alistair Dobson.

“We’re also pleased to provide certainty to our Clubs, players, broadcasters, commercial partners and governments today with confirmation of match-ups, dates and start times for the entire KFC BBL|10 campaign, and venues for matches through to the end of 2020.

“We are working through scenarios for the remaining 35 regular season matches and Finals series to be played in the New Year with our Clubs, broadcasters, partners and governments. An announcement on these venues will be made in the coming weeks.

“The KFC BBL is by far and away the most watched sporting league in the country on a per-match basis and we look forward to that continuing as we celebrate ten years of the Big Bash.

“The League would like to thank the Australian, Tasmanian, Australian Capital Territory, Queensland and South Australia state governments for their support of the KFC BBL|10 season. We also thank the other state and territory governments for their ongoing support as we confirm plans to take matches to more markets in January.

“We also wish to thank our State and Territory Associations and Clubs, broadcast partners Seven, Foxtel and SEN, commercial partners including KFC, BKT, Toyota, and Sanitarium and the Australian Cricketers’ Association for their support throughout this process.”

Sydney Thunder BBL|10 Fixtures

Sat 12 Dec | Vs Melbourne Stars | Manuka Oval | 4:05pm

Mon 14 Dec | Vs Brisbane Heat | Manuka Oval | 7:15pm

Tues 22 Dec | Vs Perth Scorchers | Manuka Oval | 7:15pm

Sat 26 Dec | Vs Melbourne Renegades | Manuka Oval | 6:10pm

Tues 29 Dec | Vs Melbourne Stars | Manuka Oval | 7:15pm

Fri 1 Jan | Vs Melbourne Renegades | TBC | 7:15pm

Mon 4 Jan | Vs Brisbane Heat | TBC | 7:15pm

Thurs 7 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | TBC | 6:10pm

Sat 9 Jan | Vs Perth Scorchers | TBC | 7:15pm

Wed 13 Jan | Vs Sydney Sixers | TBC | 7:15pm

Mon 18 Jan | Vs Hobart Hurricanes | TBC | 7:15pm

Fri 22 Jan | Vs Sydney Sixers | TBC | 7:15pm

Sun 24 Jan | Vs Adelaide Strikers | TBC | 4:05pm

Mon 25 Jan | Vs Adelaide Strikers | TBC | 7:15pm

Sydney Thunder Memberships

Members of the Thunder Nation will get free entry to crowd-friendly Thunder WBBL|06 matches.

Memberships start from $40 and offer access to a host of new benefits and exclusive discounts. View all packages here.

For more information or to join the Thunder Nation, please contact our Membership Team on 02 8302 6092.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australian squad for 2024 Men’s Under 19 World Cup

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW Cricket Australia (CA) has today named the Australian squad for the ICC Men’s Under 19...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter