Cricket Australia: Australian Test squad for the Vodafone Test Series against India; Australia A squad for Indian tour matches

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has announced the following 17-player Australian squad for the Vodafone Test Series against India, starting at the Adelaide Oval on December 17.

Selectors chose the expanded squad in considering the bio secure hubs that the team will be based in and the need to plan for replacing players at short notice if required.


Sean Abbott (NSW)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Pat Cummins (NSW) (vc)

Cameron Green (WA)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW)

Travis Head (SA)

Marnus Labuschagne (QLD)

Nathan Lyon (NSW)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Tim Paine (TAS) (c)

James Pattinson (VIC)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Steve Smith (NSW)

Mitchell Starc (NSW)

Mitchell Swepson (QLD)

Matthew Wade (TAS)

David Warner (NSW)

Hohns said: “What we saw in the opening rounds of the Marsh Sheffield Shield were a number of players performing exceptionally well. It is such a positive sign for Australian cricket to have so many good young players stepping into contention for the Test and Australia A selection.

“Huge praise should go to the South Australian Cricket Association, the coaches, players and all those involved in delivering such a high quality block of Shield matches in challenging circumstances. The SACA went above and beyond to deliver great quality wickets and conditions for the players to thrive.

“Two of those many standout players were of course Cameron Green and Will Pucovski. Their undeniable form demanded selection and we are very pleased to have these young men in the squad for what will be a tremendous Test Series against an extremely formidable opponent.

“Cameron has already won selection in the white ball squad and continues that in joining the Test squad. He is a wonderful young talent who has great potential to become an all-rounder of substance over time. His batting alone has demanded his place in the squad.

“Will’s record breaking start to the summer has been exceptional. His ability to show such patience is something which stands him in good stead for Test cricket and he is in rare company with two double centuries to start the summer. We very much look forward to Will developing further on the international stage.

“Mitch Swepson is another who has excelled and is in fine form for Queensland. He gives the side a strong second spin option to Nathan Lyon and we feel he is ready and deserving of the opportunity.

“Sean Abbott has also been outstanding at the start of the summer and comes in to his first Test squad as a very strong fast bowling option. Add that to his recent batting form over the last 12 months he presents a very complete package in the squad.

In line with the white ball squad, Pat Cummins will be the sole vice-captain of the Test squad under Tim Paine.

“As was the case with the white ball side we have reverted to a traditional leadership model of captain and vice-captain now we have a settled and in-form group of experienced players,” Hohns said.

“Travis remains an important member of the senior leadership group and has been integral in the recent success of the side which is now ranked as the best Test team in the world. He has been a great support to Tim and is a very experienced leader.”

Selectors have also chosen a 19-player Australia A squad to play India A and India in tour matches at Drummoyne Oval and the Sydney Cricket Ground which includes nine players from the Test squad and Australian captain Tim Paine. Final sides and a captain will be chosen closer to each match.

Australia A

Sean Abbott (NSW)

Ashton Agar (WA)

Joe Burns (QLD)

Jackson Bird (TAS)

Alex Carey (SA)

Harry Conway (NSW)

Cameron Green (WA)

Marcus Harris (VIC)

Travis Head (SA)

Moises Henriques (NSW)

Nic Maddinson (VIC)

Mitchell Marsh (WA – subject to fitness)

Michael Neser (QLD)

Tim Paine (TAS)

James Pattinson (VIC)

Will Pucovski (VIC)

Mark Steketee (QLD)

Will Sutherland (VIC)

Mitchell Swepson (QLD)

“We wanted to use these two games as preparation for the Test series for those players and as a reward to others for their performances in the first block of Shield matches, all of whom we believe could represent Australia in the future,” Hohns said.

Vodafone Test Series against India:

December 17-21 – First Vodafone Test, Adelaide Oval (d/n)

December 26-30 – Second Vodafone Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground

January 7-11 – Third Vodafone Test, Sydney Cricket Ground

January 15-19 – Fourth Vodafone Test, Brisbane Cricket Ground

Australia A versus India A and India:

December 6-8 – Australia A v India A, Drummoyne Oval

December 11-13 – Australia A v India, Sydney Cricket Ground (d/n)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA statement on SABC India tour broadcast

Cricket South Africa regrets to announce that it is unable to strike a deal with the SABC to broadcast...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter