Home Domestic National Tournaments Lucky 7 the takeaway for Sydney Thunder

Lucky 7 the takeaway for Sydney Thunder

Lucky 7 the takeaway for Sydney Thunder
Lucky 7 the takeaway for Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Sydney Thunder

BBL|12 Draft order of selections, date and broadcast details confirmed

Sydney Thunder have drawn the seventh and penultimate pick in the first two rounds of the inaugural BBL Overseas Player Draft, that will held on Sunday, August 28.

The Draft, to be broadcast on Fox Cricket and available on Foxtel and Kayo Sports, will follow Australia’s Dettol ODI Series clash with Zimbabwe in Townsville and witness a plethora of the world’s best T20 sign on for KFC BBL|12.

Two weighted lotteries* were undertaken yesterday, in the presence of authorised Club officials, the BBL Draft Committee, CA security and integrity, and an independent scrutineer to determine the order of selections.

After missing the KFC BBL|11 Finals, Melbourne Stars (1 entry), Brisbane Heat (2 entries) and Melbourne Renegades (3 entries) were placed in the first lottery.

The remaining Clubs, all of which played Finals last season, were entered in the second lottery, with the Thunder, who finished fourth in BBL|11, grabbing the third pick, for the seventh spot overall in Rounds 1 and 2.

Sydney Thunder List Manager Tim Cruickshank said the Thunder Nation can expect the Club’s hierarchy to being working overtime to find the best available players in each round.

“The announcement of the draft order is another significant step in this process for the Overseas Player Draft and we are looking forward to welcoming some quality talent to the Thunder Nation,” Cruickshank said.

“With the way this draft is set up, we knew we were not able to draw in the first three picks, however we were always confident there will be some outstanding players available no matter where you pick, especially in Rounds 1 and 2.

“Now we know which position we will pick from, we can ramp up our planning and I have already been in touch with TB (head coach Trevor Bayliss) and some of our senior players. We will continue to work with them, along with Michael Klinger (CNSW Head of Male Cricket), to speak to players and managers who have nominated for the draft that we see as potentially playing a role for us.

“It really is shaping as an exciting year ahead for the Thunder with a new captain to be named and the continued development of our young players led by Tanveer and Jason Sangha, Ollie Davies and Baxter Holt.”

The order of selections for the KFC BBL|12 Draft was ratified following the weighted lotteries and will be as follows:

1. Melbourne Renegades

2. Melbourne Stars

3. Brisbane Heat

4. Sydney Sixers

5. Adelaide Strikers

6. Perth Scorchers

7. Sydney Thunder

8. Hobart Hurricanes

As revealed in June, the Draft will include four rounds, with clubs to select a minimum of two and maximum of three players in total. Clubs must pass in at least one round. Round 1 will follow the order as stated above, with Rounds 2 to 4 to follow a snaking order.

Tickets for this summer’s Thunder WBBL and BBL matches go on-sale to the public at 2pm, August 18 (AEST).

Thunder BBL Memberships will be available to the general public soon. Be the first in line by registering your interest here.

KFC BBL|12 Draft Nominations

Over 170 players have nominated for the Draft to date. All players announced are below, with the remainder to be announced soon.


Rashid Khan, Qais Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaq, Izharulhaq Naveed, Naveen Ul Haq Murid, Hazratullah Zazai

New Zealand

Colin Munro, Todd Astle

South Africa

Faf du Plessis, Marchant de Lange, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese (also Namibia)

West Indies

Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Anderson Phillip, Khary Pierre, Ravi Rampaul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair, Tion Webster, Nyeem Young

*About the weighted lotteries

The weighted lotteries used to determine the KFC BBL|12 Draft order of selections were conducted by randomdraws.com.au, a service by Trade Promotions and Lotteries Pty Ltd (TPAL®), ACN 601 297 330, a leading compliance specialist for running promotions in Australia. The system is government certified and compliant for all Australian states for conducting trade promotion lotteries.

Sydney Thunder BBL|12 Squad

Head Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Contracted for BBL|12: Ollie Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here