SA20 League: Former cricket stars headline expert roster of Betway SA20 commentators

Must Read

Photo Credit: SA20 League

‘Cricket Fan at Heart’ De Villiers looking forward to commentary debut

Former Proteas Men’s captain, AB de Villiers, is looking forward to his commentary debut during the Betway SA20 starting on 10 January. De Villiers headlines a stellar team of SuperSport commentators and presenters who will call the exciting action of South Africa’s anticipated new league.

De Villiers, known as “MR 360”, will bring all the flair and innovation he thrilled fans all around the world with during his playing days to the commentary booth.

“I am a cricket fan at heart and I can’t wait to be behind the mic to watch the brilliant performances from the world’s best cricketers during the Betway SA20. I am looking forward to joining some of my past team mates and cricketing legends for this exciting opportunity,” De Villiers said. 

The commentary team has reunited the legendary Proteas slip cordon with De Villiers joined by his former national team teammates Mark Boucher, Ashwell Prince, Shaun Pollock, Herschelle Gibbs, Chris Morris and Vernon Philander.

The familiar silky smooth voice of the experienced Mark Nicholas will hold it all together with former England internationals Kevin Pietersen and Darren Gough also joining the team.

There is further international flavour included in the line-up with the hugely-popular Zainab Abbas from Pakistan teaming up South Africa’s first lady of cricket Kass Naidoo, Urooj Mumtaz, Pommie Mbangwa, Mike Haysman, and former West Indies T20 World Cup-winning captain Daren Sammy.

The broadcast will aim to bring in fresh and engaging perspectives on the SA20 coverage, bringing to life the ‘sportainment’ factor to fans around the world.

SuperSport – Africa’s biggest broadcaster – will be introducing new-look technology and innovations to create the ultimate viewing experience of the SA20 coverage.

All 33 matches will be broadcast live on SuperSport in Sub-Saharan Africa, Viacom18 in India and Sky Sports in the UK.

Zainab Abbas said: “I’m thrilled to be part of the SuperSport team for the SA20 league. It’s something new for the fans and will provide lots of entertainment and also some quality cricket. SuperSport has always provided great cricket coverage and I am really looking forward to contributing towards this event with a special team.”

SA-born Pietersen, meanwhile, is looking forward to returning home for the inaugural competition.

“I’m excited to be part of the SuperSport team for the SA20 league. Especially as Someone who was born in KZN and also someone who has played cricket in Durban in my early part of my career. I’m very proud to be part of the inaugural SA20 league and love the country. I am really looking forward to contributing towards this event with a special team.”

Full Betway SA20 commentators/presenters list:

Mark Nicholas, Kevin Pietersen, Darren Gough (all England), Zainab Abbas, Urooj Mumtaz (both Pakistan), Chris Morris, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, Herschelle Gibbs, Vernon Philander, Kass Naidoo, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher (all South Africa), Pommie Mbangwa (Zimbabwe), Daren Sammy (West Indies), Mike Haysman (Australia)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA statement on SABC India tour broadcast

Cricket South Africa regrets to announce that it is unable to strike a deal with the SABC to broadcast...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter