Thursday, July 25, 2024

SA20 League: Betway SA20 stars set to continue making impact in USA

Must Read

Photo Credit: SA20 League

Barely a week after the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has concluded, the world’s best players will be headed back to the USA, but this time to play in Major League Cricket – starting on Friday night (SAST).

A total of 22 Betway SA20-signed players will be in action in the six-team competition, which includes three aligned with SA20 franchises: MI New York (MI Cape Town) and Seattle Orcas (Pretoria Capitals) who play in the season-opener and Texas Super Kings (Joburg Super Kings).


Proteas captain Aiden Markram headlines the new arrivals who did not feature in MLC’s inaugural campaign in 2023 and will be turning out in Texas Super Kings colours. ‘Sauce’ will be spared captaincy with TSK, as Faf du Plessis reprises his SA20 role under the tutelage of Stephen Fleming.

Durban’s Super Giants’ Afghanistan duo of Noor Ahmad and Naveen-ul-Haq will also turn out for TSK, fresh from helping their country to a dream run to the T20 World Cup semifinals.

Seattle Orcas, Season 1’s runners-up, have signed up Proteas left-handers Nandre Burger and Ryan Rickelton and the pair will undoubtedly want to hit the ground running having not seen action during the T20 showpiece in the US and West Indies.

Speaking of West Indies, allrounder Romario Shepherd will be in blue (rather than Super Kings yellow) during MLC, having been signed by defending champions MI New York.

Across to the other coast of USA, San Francisco Unicorns (who finished Season 1 in fifth place) has made Wiaan Mulder a late addition to their roster and he will be the only SA20 links after they didn’t retain Lungi Ngidi and transferred Marcus Stoinis to Texas Super Kings for the upcoming campaign.


Two SA20-signed players have also changed MLC teams for Season 2. Paarl Royals captain, David Miller has traded Texas for California, having signed for Los Angeles Knight Riders.

On the other hand, his national teammate, Anrich Nortje, has left Washington Freedom (and Marco Jansen) behind to join MI New York who already boast Kagiso Rabada as a bowling spearhead.


Rabada, in turn, is one of seven SA20 players taking up MINY’s eight international slots, five of which are hoping to retain the title – their captain Kieron Pollard, Season 1 Player of the Tournament Nicholas Pooran, Dewald Brevis and Rashid Khan being the others.

Runners-up the Orcas, will be able to call on captain Wayne ParnellHeinrich Klaasen and Quinton de Kock again while Marco Jansen is remaining with Washington Freedom, Jason Roy will help his Royals captain settle at the Knight Riders and Du Plessis (and late re-signing Gerald Coetzee) will do the same with the various new arrivals at the Super Kings.


Los Angeles Knight Riders: *David Miller (from Texas Super Kings), Jason Roy ENG

MI New York: (Season 1 champions) Dewald Brevis, Rashid Khan AFG, Anrich Nortje (from Washington Freedom), Kieron Pollard WI – captain, Nicholas Pooran WI, Kagiso Rabada, Romario Shepherd WI

San Francisco Unicorns: *Wiaan Mulder

Seattle Orcas: (Season 1 runners-up) *Nandre Burger, Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Wayne Parnell – captain, *Ryan Rickelton

Texas Super Kings: Gerald Coetzee, Faf du Plessis – captain, *Noor Ahmad AFG, *Aiden Markram, *Naveen-ul-Haq AFG, *Marcus Stoinis AUS (from San Francisco Unicorns)

Washington Freedom: Marco Jansen

*new signing


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ICC approves 2025 Champions Trophy budget for Pakistan, omits India participation discussion

The ICC has approved a budget of Rs12.80 billion for Pakistan to host the 2025 Champions Trophy from February...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter