Thursday, July 25, 2024

ECB: Women’s teams announce domestic signings for The Hundred

Must Read

Photo Credit: ECB

The eight women’s teams taking part in The Hundred have announced their first wave of domestic signings, with Alex Hartley, Sophia Dunkley, Mady Villiers, Katie Levick and Sarah Glenn amongst the names.

The first group of domestic players announced by the new teams include players who have represented England, others who are currently part of the England Women’s Academy, as well as many who are stand-out performers from the county game.

Birmingham Phoenix

Evelyn Jones, Isabelle Wong, Marie Kelly, Ria Fackrell

London Spirit

Aylish Cranstone, Charlie Dean, Hannah Jones, Naomi Dattani

Manchester Originals

Alex Hartley, Ellie Threlkeld, Emma Lamb, Georgie Boyce

Northern Superchargers

Bess Heath, Georgia Davis, Helen Fenby, Katie Levick

Oval Invincibles

Georgia Adams, Hollie Armitage, Rhianna Southby, Tash Farrant

Trent Rockets

Beth Langston, Kathryn Bryce, Sarah Glenn, Mady Villiers

Southern Brave

Fi Morris, Lauren Bell, Paige Scholfield, Sophia Dunkley

Welsh Fire

Alex Griffiths, Claire Nicholas, Georgia Hennessy, Sophie Luff

Each team is permitted to have up to six “marquee players” in their squad at any one time, comprising a maximum of three Centrally Contracted England Women’s players and a maximum of three overseas players. Their 15-strong squads will be completed with domestic talent.

Many of the domestic players also boast local links with their new team. Marie Kelly, who will join up with Amy Jones, Kirstie Gordon, Georgia Elwiss and Sophie Devine at Birmingham Phoenix, is captain of Warwickshire, while Naomi Dattani – a new recruit for London Spirit – is captain of Middlesex’s one-day team.

Manchester Originals have announced four players who represent Lancashire in county cricket – including World Cup winner Alex Hartley – while Northern Superchargers have signed Yorkshire’s Katie Levick, the leading wicket-taker in the history of women’s county cricket.

Lydia Greenway’s Oval Invincibles team have been strengthened by the addition of former England seamer Tash Farrant, and have also tempted Yorkshire’s Hollie Armitage into a move down south.

Trent Rockets will have an England spin duo in the shape of Sarah Glenn and Mady Villiers – as well as Scottish international Kathryn Bryce, who impressed in last season’s Kia Super League.

Sophia Dunkley and Lauren Bell – two potential future stars for England – will play under Charlotte Edwards at Southern Brave while Welsh Fire have signed two local Welsh players in Alex Griffiths and Claire Nicholas.

For full squad information for each team head to

The Hundred women’s competition kicks off on 22July, with the men’s competition getting underway a week earlier on 17 July. For priority ticket access head to and sign up. The first wave of priority tickets go on sale from 12 – 28 February.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ICC approves 2025 Champions Trophy budget for Pakistan, omits India participation discussion

The ICC has approved a budget of Rs12.80 billion for Pakistan to host the 2025 Champions Trophy from February...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter