Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Sydney Thunder: Indigenous Cricketers from Thunder Nation help NSW successfully defend titles

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Thunder

National Indigenous Cricket Championships took place in Alice Springs

Thirteen members of the Thunder Nation helped NSW successfully defend its titles in both the Women’s and Men’s divisions at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships in Alice Springs this week.

The NSW Women’s Indigenous team defeated Queensland in the Final to claim a remarkable 13th straight title, while the NSW Men’s team also defeated Queensland in its Final to win its third successive championship.

Coach of the Thunder Indigenous XI Julie Muir took 5/13 in the Final as Queensland were bowled out for 72.

Muir finished the week as the leading wicket-taker with 8 at an average of 5.0.

Thunder Nation’s Dharmini Chauhan, who scored an unbeaten half-century in the opening match of the tournament, was named in the Team of the Tournament known as the Black Caps.


The NSW Men’s Indigenous team put in a stunning effort with the ball in the Grand Final, bowling out Queensland for just 46.

Thunder Nation duo Ben Patterson and Tyran Liddiard starred in the Final. Patterson, a fast bowling allrounder from Dubbo, claimed 3/7 from his three overs, while Liddiard completed two stumpings and one catch from behind the stumps.

Liddiard, who captains the Thunder Indigenous XI, finished the tournament as the fifth leading run-scorer, with 160 runs at 26.67.

Liddiard and Patterson’s outstanding performances throughout the week were recognised with selection in the Team of the Tournament.

Liddiard also picked up the fielding award with five catches and seven stumpings during the week.


Thunder is committed to Indigenous engagement and through a variety of initiatives and programs, the club strives provide opportunities for Indigenous cricketers across the Thunder Nation and make a meaningful difference in the community.

Indigenous cricketers from the Thunder Nation who represented NSW at the NICC:

Julie Muir (C) Wiradjuri

Dharmini Chauhan Wiradjuri

Sara Darney Wiradjuri

Veronica Gordon Wiradjuri

Amali McNeil Wiradjuri

Dimity Parton Wiradjuri/Gamillaraay

Tyran Liddiard (C) Biripi

Jack Hartigan Gundungurra

Lachlan O’Connor Anaiwan

Ben Patterson Wiradjuri

Ethan Fitzpatrick Ngunnawal

Yarran Fair-Townsend Kamilaroi/Biripi

Jack McDonald Wiradjuri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Washington Freedom Stars Ravindra, Ferguson, Pienaar meet local fans at Verizon store event in North Carolina

https://youtu.be/PRfzeeiEVLU Three stars from the Washington Freedom Major League Cricket team US recently made an appearance at a local Verizon...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter