Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Sydney Sixers: Six Sydney Sixers earn national contracts

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

Steve Smith and recently re-signed WBBL captain Ellyse Perry are among six Sydney Sixers players to earn Cricket Australia contracts for the 2020/21 season, announced on Thursday.

Smith joined fellow BBL|09 champions and Australian team mates Josh Hazelwood and Nathan Lyon on the list of 20 men to receive a national contract.

WBBL players Perry, Alyssa Healy and Ashleigh Gardner were among 15 women contracted.

On Wednesday, Perry confirmed that she had re-signed with the Sixers for a further two seasons.

Sixers off-spinning allrounder Erin Burns missed out on a CA contract after being upgraded to a full contract during last season.

“Erin Burns was unlucky to miss out having been upgraded to a full contract this season but is highly rated by the selectors. She’s an adaptable player and is still in the mix for future selection,” said Women’s National Selector Shawn Flegler.

Healy and Gardner were both part of the Australian team that won the Women’s T20 World Cup Final in front of 86,174 people at the MCG in early March, the last major sporting event in Australia before the COVID-19 pandemic halted nearly all International sport.

Healy starred in the 85-run win over India with a spectacular 75 from 39 balls earning her Player of the Final.

Burns and Perry both missed the Final due to injury but were very much part of the squad.

Smith and Hazlewood each made their first appearances for the Sixers in six years last season capped off by the club’s second BBL title.

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Joe Burns (Queensland)

Alex Carey (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (New South Wales)

Aaron Finch (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Travis Head (South Australia)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Tim Paine (Tasmania)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Cricket Australia contracted women’s players

Nicola Carey (Tasmania)

Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)

Rachael Haynes (New South Wales)

Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)

Jess Jonassen (Queensland)

Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)

Meg Lanning (Victoria)

Tahlia McGrath (South Australia)

Sophie Molineux (Victoria)

Beth Mooney (Queensland)

Ellyse Perry (Victoria)

Megan Schutt (South Australia)

Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)

Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)

Georgia Wareham (Victoria)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Victoria: W/BBL Events Coordinator (Deadline – July 29)

Posted: 15 July 2024 Link to Apply: The Role We are currently seeking two vibrant individuals to play a part in...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter