Sunday, July 14, 2024

ICC: Roy, Bairstow on brink of top 10 going into Ireland series

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

England’s Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow will be in the focus from the rankings perspective as the reigning World Cup champions kick off the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League with their three-match home series against Ireland on Thursday.

• Spinners Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali lead England’s bowling attack in the absence of premier fast bowlers

• Stirling and McBrine lead the batting and bowling rankings, respectively for Ireland

England’s Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow will be in the focus from the rankings perspective as the reigning World Cup champions kick off the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League with their three-match home series against Ireland on Thursday.

Opener Roy and wicketkeeper-batsman Bairstow, who are currently ranked 11th and 14th, respectively, in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings, could work their way back into the top 10, having both enjoyed personal best rankings of ninth position in the past. Roy was in ninth place in July last year and Bairstow in October 2018.

World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan, who is the third best-ranked batsman from his side in 23rd position, will be leading against a side for whom he scored 99 on ODI debut against Scotland 14 years ago.

With none of the England players featuring in their Test series against the West Indies named for the ODIs, England will be missing their premier fast bowlers and will be led by spin twins Adil Rashid (29th) and vice-captain Moeen Ali (44th). 

For Ireland, skipper Andy Balbirnie, who took over from long-time skipper William Porterfield last November and has only led in a three-ODI series in the Caribbean in January, is ranked 46th among batsmen. Paul Stirling remains their top-ranked batsman in 27th position, having held a career-high position of seventh in 2013.

Off-spinner Andy McBrine (31st) and paceman Boyd Rankin (joint-40th) are their leading bowlers according to the rankings.

Start of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League: The series marks the start of the much-awaited Super League that will see 13 teams vie for direct qualifying places in the next ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India in 2023.

India and seven other teams will make it directly from the league with the remaining five getting a second chance through a Qualifier. Teams will be awarded 10 points for a win, five for a tie, no-result or abandoned match and none for a loss.

The media release sent out on the launch of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League is available here and the FAQs here.

MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings (as of 28 July, before the England-Ireland series):

Batsmen (top 10)

Rank               PlayerTeamPtsAvgeHighest Rating
1Virat KohliIndia87159.33909 v Eng at Headingley 2018
2Rohit SharmaIndia85549.27882 v SL at Headingley 2019
3Babar AzamPak82954.17844 v NZ at Wellington 2018
4Ross TaylorNZ81848.44836 v India at Auckland 2020
5Faf du PlessisSA79047.47814 v Aus at Old Trafford 2019
6David WarnerAus78945.80868 v Pak at Adelaide 2017
7Joe RootEng77051.05816 v SL at Dambulla 2018
8Aaron FinchAus76741.02791 v Eng at Lord’s 2019
9K WilliamsonNZ76547.48792 v SA at Centurion 2015
10Q de KockSA75544.65809 v SL at Durban 2019

Other selected rankings

Rank   Player             Team  Pts     Avge   Highest Rating
11Jason RoyEng75442.39773 v Aus at Edgbaston 2019
14Jonny BairstowEng74947.14769 v Aus at Durham 2018
23Eoin MorganEng66839.40712 v Afg at Old Trafford 2019
27Paul StirlingIre63136.79689 v Pak at Dublin 2013
46A BalbirnieIre55131.83565 v Zim at Bready 2019
58=Kevin O’BrienIre52230.56598 v Net at Amstelveen 2013

Bowlers (top 10)

Rank   PlayerTeam  Pts     Avge   EcoHighest Rating
1Trent BoultNZ72225.295.03768 v WI at Old Trafford 2019
2J BumrahIndia71924.434.55838 v WI at Thiruvananthapur 2018
3M Ur RahmanAfg701*!22.443.94701 v WI at Lucknow 2019
4Pat CumminsAus68927.555.16725 v SL at The Oval 2019
5Kagiso RabadaSA66527.344.99718 v Eng at Lord’s 2017
6Chris WoakesEng66030.655.57666 v SA at Cape Town 2020
7M AmirPak657!29.624.85657 v SL at Karachi 2019
8Matt HenryNZ64126.485.40664 v Aus at Hamilton 2016
9Rashid KhanAfg63018.544.16799 v Pak at Abu Dhabi 2018
10=Mitchell StarcAus62822.225.10781 v NZ at Melbourne 2015

Other selected rankings

Rank               Player Team  Pts     Avge   EcoHighest Rating
29Adil RashidEng56531.495.61674 v India at Headingley 2018
31Andy McBrineIre55134.384.39568 v Zim at Bready 2019
40=Boyd RankinIre50427.874.78581 v Aus at Southampton 2013
44=Moeen AliEng50048.605.25623 v Aus at Old Trafford 2018
57David WilleyEng47136.325.75550 v SL at Cardiff 2016

All-rounders (top five)

Rank                     (+/-)Player Team  Pts     Highest Rating
1( – )M NabiAfg301346 v Ire at Greater Noida 2017
2( – )Ben StokesEng293303 v NZ at Lord’s 2019
3( – )Imad WasimPak278*/281 v SL at Karachi 2019
4( – )C de GrandhommeNZ265*/*266 v India at Bay Oval 2020
5( – )Chris WoakesEng264307 v NZ at Christchurch 2018

For more information on player rankings, please click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA appoints IMG Arena as official data supplier and betting live streaming partner

Photo Credit: BCCI Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced IMG ARENA, OpenBet’s sports data and streaming products arm, as its...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter