Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Cricket Tasmania: 2020/21 Community Cricket Award winners

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Tasmania

Cricket Tasmania is today delighted to announce the winners of the 2020/21 Tasmanian Community Cricket Awards.

Cricket Australia’s annual National Community Cricket Awards recognise some of the county’s best grassroots cricket volunteers, programs and initiatives, and the first step of the awards process is state and territory awards, where the local community is encouraged to nominate exceptional individuals and programs across a variety of categories.

Ben Smith, Cricket Tasmania’s General Manager of Community Cricket, said that although the past year had been one like no other with less physical cricket activities taking place than normal, it was great to see so many programs still thriving as we returned to operating in a COVID-normal environment.

“Community sport was one of the hardest sectors hit during the initial COVID lockdowns, and it’s incredibly difficult to come back from nothing when you’ve had very limited opportunities to engage with the community over that winter period.

“Without sounding too cliched, it’s been nothing short of inspirational to watch what people in our wider community have done to keep people involved in cricket throughout this past 12 months or so, and although these Community Awards can’t cover all the great stories out there, we’re grateful to be able to give some individuals and programs acknowledgement of their tremendous efforts.”

Congratulations to all of the winners and runners up for the 2020/21 Community Cricket Awards:

Community Cricket Club of the Year

University of Tasmania Cricket Club

Highly Commended: Wynyard & Districts Cricket Club

Community Cricket Association of the Year

Cricket North West

Community Cricket Coach of the Year

Kelly Read (New Norfolk Cricket Club)

Highly Commended: Nicola Dusatoy (Legana Cricket Club)

Young Leader of the Year

Daniel Smith (Sorell Cricket Club)

Highly Commended: Connor O’Brien (Kingborough District Cricket Club)

Community Partnership of the Year

New Town Cricket Club (‘Bat4Boobs’)

Highly Commended: Westbury Cricket Club (‘Make Runs for Maxi’)

Women and Girls Initiative of the Year

Cricket North

Highly Commended: Ulverstone District Cricket Club

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year

Tasmanian Cricket League

Highly Commended: Riverside Cricket Club

Community Match Official of the Year

Scott Pearce

Highly Commended: Gilbert van der Steege

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year

Burnie Cricket League

Highly Commended: Glenorchy Cricket Club

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year

Glenorchy Cricket Club

Highly Commended: Launceston Cricket Club, South Hobart Sandy Bay Cricket Club and Kingborough District Cricket Club

Cricket in Schools

Mowbray Cricket Club (Stuart Medcroft)

Highly Commended: Annie McKenzie (Glenora District School)

Cricket Australia will announce the National Community Cricket Award winners in May.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

English Cricket in talks with IPL owners for investment in The Hundred

English cricket chiefs confirmed that they have held talks with Indian Premier League (IPL) owners about acquiring a stake...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter