Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Cricket Australia: Squads named for Top End Series

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia has selected a 15 player squad to play the Northern Territory Strike XI in the Cricket 365 Top End Series beginning Sunday, August 1. 

The 15 player squad is subject to fitness and availability for selection due to state border restrictions. 

The Top End Series will see the CA XI play a NT Strike team in three 50 over matches on the 1st, 4th, and 8th of August. 

The CA XI features some of the most promising emerging players in the country, with a number of young players in the Under 19/20 age bracket. 

The squad is further strengthened by NSW stars Jason Sangha, Jack Edwards and Chris Tremain, who have been participating in the 50 over component of the Cricket 365 program. 

The CA XI will be coached by Cricket Australia High Performance Coach, Troy Cooley. 

Cricket Australia’s National Talent and Pathways Manager, Graham Manou, said: 

“We’re delighted to name such an exciting squad for the inaugural Top End Series.” 

“We have a nice mix of experience and youth in the squad. The Top End series gives our young players a fantastic opportunity to learn from some of their more established teammates and, just as importantly, test themselves against quality opposition. 

“We are mindful that border restrictions may cause challenges for players who are yet to arrive in the NT. However, we had assumed this in our planning and have a number of quality players on standby should any of those players be unable to travel. 

“Cricket 365 has already provided emerging and experienced players alike with a chance to gain some valuable match time during the winter months. 

“I extend our thanks to NT Cricket for hosting this CA XI and I look forward to what promises to be an exciting series.” 

NT Cricket CEO Joel Morrison said: 

“The Chamber NT Top End Series is an important part of our Cricket 365 program as it provides an opportunity for our players, coaches and match officials to represent their community.  

“We’re delighted to see representative cricket back in the Territory and we can’t wait to see our NT Strike in action against quality opposition.  

“One of the great features of the NT Strike is that it enables young emerging players like Ryan Harvey from Southern Districts to play alongside established professional cricketers such as Jake Weatherald and Tom Andrews, as well as accomplished premier grade players like Luke Zanchetta and Troy Ryan from Darwin.” 

Northern Territory Strike: Jake Weatherald (c) (Tracy Village / SA), Tom Andrews (vc) (Darwin / TAS), Blade Baxter (PINT), Ash Chandrasinghe (Waratah), Jacob Dick (West), Dean Fry (Southern Districts), Ryan Harvey (Southern Districts), Jackson Isakka (Southern Districts), Michael Kudra (Nightcliff), Joel Logan (PINT), Hamish Martin (Palmerston), Troy Ryan (Darwin), Kyle Scrimegour (Tracy Village), Beau Webster (Darwin / TAS), Luke Zanchetta (Darwin).  

Cricket Australia XI: Isaac Higgins (SA), Teague Wyllie (WA), Dylan Kritzinger (QLD), Sam Rahaley (SA), Campbell Kellaway (VIC), Toby Snell (QLD), Noah McFadyen (QLD), Jackson Sinfield (QLD), Josh Kann (QLD), Liam Guthrie (WA), Jack Edwards (NSW), Chris Tremain (NSW), Zac Sleeman (VIC), Jason Sangha (NSW), Reiley Mark (VIC).  

Note: selection for both teams is subject to change depending on border restrictions and player fitness.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

English Cricket in talks with IPL owners for investment in The Hundred

English cricket chiefs confirmed that they have held talks with Indian Premier League (IPL) owners about acquiring a stake...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter