Sunday, July 21, 2024

Cricket Canada: Manitoba hosts Western John Ross Robertson tournament

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Canada

Cricket Manitoba will be the hosts for the 2022 Western John Ross Robertson Clubs Championships matches over the July 18-19 weekend. Four representative Club teams from Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and hosts Manitoba will participate in the tournament’s scheduled July 18-19 matches.

Manitoba’s Assiniboine cricket grounds will serve as the venue for the scheduled matches. Alberta will challenge British Columbia at Assiniboine Centre. Over at Assiniboine North Manitoba and Saskatchewan will face each other. Both matches will start simultaneously at 12 noon and will be live streamed.

Alberta’s representative Club team, the Ginny Memorial Sports Academy (GMSA), will be led by Davinder Dhanda. GMSA’s remaining squad members will be Gurinder Thandi, Simran Dhaliwal, Rattan Singh Saggu, Bhupinder Kumar (wkpr), Satjit Gill, Simranjit Singh, Muninder Pal Singh Bhogal, Jasmandeep Pandheer, Karan Thandi, Amripal Brar, and Jatinder Purewal.

Abbotsford Cricket Club, one of British Columbia’s oldest clubs, will be that Province’s reprepresentative for the 2022 JRR Championships. Led by Jimmy Hansra, Abbotsford’s 13 member roster will also include Gurtej Brar, Tajinder Dhillon, Vatsal Shah, Sunikumar Prajapati, Dhruvalkumar Patel, Sudheer Kommi, wicket-keeper Bharat Arora, Harman, Rai Parvinder Sharma, Gursewak Sohi, Ashpreet Singh and Kumwarveer Raina.

As Saskatchewan’s representative, the Sakatoon Warriors will be led by Gangadeep Singh. The Warriors’ remaining members will be Harry Sandhu (V. Capt) Derreck Kolla, Jabir Hassan, Joy Sareen, Manpreet Kaisi, Awais Ahmed, Tarak Chaudhari, Sahil Ahuja, Rishi Vashisht, Harpreet Mangat, Pratik Shah, Tapan Dave and Achal Shah.

Rounding out the tournaments’ four participating teams will be hosts Manitoba which will be represented by the Jatinder Matharu led Cosmos. Canadian National Men’s Team member Amarinder Dhillon will also be feature prominently within the Cosmos’ roster the remaining members of which will be Arvinder Jabal, Avaljit Sandhu, Kamaljot Singh Romana, Manpreet Buttar, Rjinder Mangli, Raza Ali, Shivam Sharma, Trevor Manoosingh, and Vasu Shah as its Vice Captain and wicketkeeper. Cosmos’ roster will also include four reserve substitute players: Kevin Darji, Amardeep Dhillon, Vaighav Patel and Maryo John. The squad will be managed by Ray Ramrattan. 

As one of cricket’s oldest existing championships, the John Ross Robertson Trophy, which began as far back as 1910, is awarded annually to the top club in Canada. Currently the tournament is played in two divisions for representative club teams from Eastern and Western Canada at the conclusion of which joint champions are decided.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Disney Star secures broadcasting rights for the ACC Women’s Asia Cup 2024

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has partnered with Disney Star as the official broadcaster for the 2024 ACC Women's...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter