Sunday, July 14, 2024

CSA announce Momentum Proteas T20 World Cup 2023 squad

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Ireland

Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Pathway Selection Panel are pleased to confirm the 15-player squad that will represent the Momentum Proteas in the eagerly awaited ICC Women’s T20 World Cup South Africa 2023 taking place between 10 – 26 February.  

The team will be captained by all-rounder Suné Luus, with Chloé Tryon continuing her role as vice-captain. The pair are currently leading South Africa in their ongoing Women’s T20 International Tri-Series against India and the West Indies in East London, with all three nations preparing for the global showpiece.  

Momentum Proteas 15 player squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup South Africa 2023:  

Suné Luus (Fidelity Titans) (Captain), Chloé Tryon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins) (Vice-Captain), Anneke Bosch (North West Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (DP World Lions), Masabata Klaas (North West Dragons), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province) 

Non-traveling Reserves:  

Micaéla Andrews (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Tebogo Macheke (Fidelity Titans), Tumi Sekhukhune (DP World Lions)  

Currently ranked fifth in the ICC Women’s T20 Team Rankings, the Proteas Women will kick off their tournament in the opening game of the World Cup against Sri Lanka on Friday, 10 February at the Six Gun Grill Newlands Cricket Ground.  

South Africa will then complete their Group A fixtures with ties against New Zealand (13 February), the defending champions Australia (18 February) and Bangladesh (21 February), in an effort to qualify for their second straight T20 World Cup semi-final following their impressive showing at Australia 2020.  

Group B is made up of England, India, and Pakistan, as well as the West Indies and Ireland.  

The top two teams in the group will advance to the semi-finals before the champions are crowned in a grand finale on Sunday, 26 February under the picturesque views of Table Mountain at Newlands.  

Tickets are sale now on TicketPro from R30, with the global event featuring the best women’s cricket has to offer set to descend onto the country’s shores in Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha.  

CSA Director of Cricket of Cricket, Enoch Nkwe said:  

“A huge congratulations to the players and management selected to represent South Africa at the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Everyone across the cricketing fraternity and the nation are backing the team all the way as they take on the rest of the world.  

“The Proteas Women have developed into a powerhouse in world cricket over the last decade, with the team making multiple semi-finals along the way. This group of players have been gifted with the once-in-a-career opportunity of playing in a World Cup on home soil and we believe this crop of players have the ability to rise to the occasion and give it their all. 

CSA Chief Executive, Pholetsi Moseki commented: 

“The Momentum Proteas have the potential to make history when they take to the field at the T20 World Cup at home. CSA and cricket-loving South Africans have no doubt this squad will go on to make the country proud.  

“Captain Suné Luus and head coach Hilton Moreeng along with the talented squad and support staff will have all the armoury required to conquer the world with the support of the entire nation, including the passionate and patriotic fans in the host cities of Cape Town, Paarl and Gqeberha.   

“On behalf of CSA, I wish the team the very best throughout the tournament and may they rest assured that the whole of South Africa is standing tall beside them,” Moseki added.  

Momentum Proteas Management – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 

Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Dillon du Preez (Assistant Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Tshegofatso Gaetsewe (Team Doctor), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Zane Webster (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Andrew Puttick (Batting Lead), Kruger van Wyk (Fielding Lead), Happiness Mesi (Massage Therapist), Lita Gqirana (Media Manager)  

South Africa’s Fixtures – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023  

Friday, 10 February – 19h00 SAST 

Group A Match 1 – South Africa vs Sri Lanka (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town)  

Monday, 13 February – 19h00 (SAST) 

Group A Match 2 – South Africa vs New Zealand (Boland Park, Paarl) 

Saturday, 18 February – 19h00 (SAST) 

Group A – Match 3 – South Africa vs Australia (St George’s Park, Gqeberha) 

Tuesday, 21 February – 19h00 (SAST)  

Group A Match 4 – South Africa vs Bangladesh (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town)  

Thursday, 23 February – 15h00 (SAST) 

Semi-Final 1 (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town) 

Friday, 24 February – 15h00 (SAST)  

Semi-Final 2 (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town) 

Sunday, 26 February – 15h00 (SAST) 

Final (Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town)  


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

The PCA saved my life – Simon Cusden, former player turned Wellbeing coach | podcast Ep 1 Cricket is a high pressure sport and environment. Fans don't see it, but many cricketers experience anxiety, depression, stress...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter