Sunday, July 21, 2024

SA20 League: Betway SA20 stars set to shine in The Hundred

Must Read

Photo Credit: SA20 League

Several South African and international Betway SA20 stars begin a new adventure in England this month at The Hundred which kicked off yesterday.

The Hundred is a fast format of cricket, with each game lasting less than three hours, that includes a simplified version of 100 balls per team.

It features eight women’s and men’s teams from seven cities across the United Kingdom. 

Pretoria Capitals’ captain Wayne Parnell has once again been bestowed with the skipper’s armband as he takes over the Northern Superchargers leadership reins from Joburg Super Kings’ captain Faf du Plessis. 

After leading the Capitals to the inaugural Betway SA20 final, and now recently repeating the performance whilst at the helm of the Seattle Orcas in Major League Cricket, Parnell will be hoping its third time lucky with the Superchargers. 

Betway SA20 Season 2 pre-signings Moeen Ali, David Wiese (both JSK), Liam Livingstone (MI Cape Town), Liam Dawson, Dawid Malan (both Sunrisers Eastern Cape), Reece Topley (Durban’s Super Giants) and Jimmy Neesham (Pretoria Capitals) will also all be in action across the seven respective teams in The Hundred. 

In-form Heinrich Klaasen will make his debut at The Hundred for The Oval Invincibles and will hope to continue his hot streak of having scored a century in the Betway SA20, Indian Premier League, and Major League Cricket this year. 

Sunrisers Eastern Cape Season 2 wildcard signing, Craig Overton will also be in action for the Southern Brave.

We are also looking forward to seeing Cricket South Africa (CSA) and Betway SA20 umpire, Lubabalo ‘Babs’ Gcuma doing his thing as the first recipient of the newly launched Umpire Exchange Programme.


  • Birmingham Phoenix: Moeen Ali, Henry Brookes, Liam Livingstone
  • London Spirit: Matthew Wade, Liam Dawson, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington
  • Manchester Originals: Jos Buttler, Phil Salt, Josh Little
  • Northern Superchargers: Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, Tom Banton, David Wiese, Wayne Parnell 
  • Oval Invincibles: Sam Curran, Will Jacks, Jason Roy, Heinrich Klaasen, Jimmy Neesham, Jordan Cox
  • Southern Brave: James Fuller, Leus du Plooy, Tim David, Craig Overton
  • Trent Rockets: Dawid Malan 
  • Welsh Fire: Tom Abell, David Willey, Roelof van der Merwe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Disney Star secures broadcasting rights for the ACC Women’s Asia Cup 2024

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has partnered with Disney Star as the official broadcaster for the 2024 ACC Women's...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter