Tuesday, July 16, 2024

ECB: England Men name ODI and IT20 squads to take on New Zealand

Must Read

Photo Credit: England & Wales Cricket Board

Two squads of fifteen players have been named with some returning and some uncapped names

The England Men’s selection panel has named the squads for the upcoming Metro Bank One-Day International Series and Vitality IT20 Series against New Zealand.

Ben Stokes returns to the England Men’s ODI set-up after deciding to reverse his decision to retire from the format while uncapped Surrey quick Gus Atkinson is included in the 15-player squad.

The squad for the four-match Vitality IT20 Series against the Blackcaps includes three players who are uncapped in the 20-over format – Atkinson, Josh Tongue and John Turner.

Tongue made his England debut in the LV= Insurance Test against Ireland earlier this summer while Hampshire right-armer Turner makes his first England squad.

England Men’s National Selector, Luke Wright, said: “We have been able to name two extremely strong squads that underline the depth of talent we enjoy in white-ball cricket.

“The return of Ben Stokes only adds to that quality with his match-winning ability and leadership. I am certain that every fan will enjoy seeing him back in an England ODI shirt again.

“We’re also excited to give first international call-ups to both Gus Atkinson and John Turner while Josh Tongue has deserved a place in the T20 squad after impressing during the Ashes.

“Any series against New Zealand is closely fought and will provide us with an ideal opportunity to test ourselves against one of the best teams in the world.”

England Men ODI squad:

Jos Buttler (Lancashire – captain)
Moeen Ali (Warwickshire)
Gus Atkinson (Surrey)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)
Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Reece Topley (Surrey)
David Willey (Northamptonshire)
Mark Wood (Durham)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England Men IT20 squad:

Jos Buttler (Lancashire – captain)
Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire)
Moeen Ali (Warwickshire)
Gus Atkinson (Surrey)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Harry Brook (Yorkshire)
Sam Curran (Surrey)
Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire)
Will Jacks (Surrey)
Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)
Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Josh Tongue (Worcestershire)
John Turner (Hampshire)
Luke Wood (Lancashire)

England Men v New Zealand – Vitality IT20 Series schedule

1st Vitality IT20: Seat Unique Riverside, Chester-le-Street – 30 August
2nd Vitality IT20: Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester – 1 September
3rd Vitality IT20: Edgbaston, Birmingham – 3 September
4th Vitality IT20: Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 5 September

England Men v New Zealand – Metro Bank One-Day Series schedule

1st Metro Bank ODI: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff – 8 September
2nd Metro Bank ODI: The Ageas Bowl, Southampton – 10 September
3rd Metro Bank ODI: The Kia Oval, London – 13 September
4th Metro Bank ODI: Lord’s, London – 15 September


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Washington Freedom Stars Ravindra, Ferguson, Pienaar meet local fans at Verizon store event in North Carolina

https://youtu.be/PRfzeeiEVLU Three stars from the Washington Freedom Major League Cricket team US recently made an appearance at a local Verizon...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter