Wednesday, July 17, 2024

ICC: Botswana ready to host Africa women once again

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

  • Eight teams contest Africa Division 2 Qualifier for the first time
  • Two teams will proceed to the Africa Qualifier in Uganda
  • All matches live streamed via

The road to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 continues as Botswana host Cameroon, Eswatini, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Sierra Leone in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Division 2 Qualifier from 02 to 08 September, where two teams will earn a spot in the Africa regional final later this year. 

Teams are scheduled to arrive in Gaborone on Thursday and the Botswana Cricket Association (BCA), who are hosting their third consecutive women’s qualifier event for the region, has expressed its readiness ahead of the arrival of seven visiting teams. 

Fazal Sherrif, BCA Chief Executive said: “It is always an honour to host an ICC event, and we have been working hard to ensure that all systems are ready for our visitors.

 “To see so many young women converging on Gaborone, chasing their cricketing dreams is a great source of pride for all of us.  We know that this will be a very keenly contested qualifier, and we trust that the best teams will progress to the next stage at the end of this tournament.” 

Patricia Kambarami, ICC Regional Development Manager – Africa said: “The growth of the game across the continent is most evident in the competitive nature of all our women’s tournaments. There is such enthusiasm and  hunger to improve, and we know that this qualifier in Gaborone will be full of surprises and good cricket.

“There is a great reward for the top two teams, because they will keep the dream to go to the World Cup well and truly alive. We commend Botswana Cricket Association on the hard work that has gone into hosting this tournament, and we cannot wait for the action to begin,” she added. 

The two groups of four teams apiece will play round robin fixtures, with the top two teams in each group then moving on to the semi-finals on Wednesday. The final is scheduled for Friday 8 September. 

Group Fixtures: 

Saturday, 02 September: 

Botswana vs Kenya (BCA 1)

Mozambique vs Eswatini (BCA 1)

Malawi vs Lesotho (BCA 2)

Sierra Leone vs Cameroon (BCA 2) 

Sunday, 03 September: 

Kenya v Malawi (BCA 1)

Sierra Leone vs Mozambique (BCA 1)

Lesotho vs Botswana (BCA 2)

Cameroon vs Eswatini (BCA 2)

Tuesday, 05 September: 

Mozambique vs Cameroon (BCA 1)

Botswana vs Malawi (BCA 1)

Sierra Leone vs Eswatini (BCA 2)

Kenya vs Lesotho (BCA 2)

Wednesday, 06 September


Friday, 08 September



 Botswana: Laura Mophakedi, Shameelah Mosweu, Amantle Mokgotlhe, Tuelo Shadrack, Oratile Kgeresi, Goabilwe Matome, Florence Samanyika, Merapelo Phiase, Pako Mapotsane, Botho Freeman, Thapelo Modise, Bontle Madimabe, Goitseone Setshwane, Wendy Moutswi

Cameroon: Michele Ekani Ngono, Cynerah Mboe, Madeleine Nseke Sissako, Debora Douma, Bernadette Aboui Mbida, Abele Tchouabo Mbieleu, Annie Nono, Clemence Manidom, Elsa Kana Souna, Marguerite Etoga Bessala, Beltine Manghe Diom, Olive Ranedoumoun Pienape, Brenda Waluma, Sonita Akenji

Eswatini: Winile Ginindza, Tibusiso Dlamini, Abahle Nyirenda, Nokwethu Simelane, Mbali Dlamini, Tenele Malinga, Nkosingiphile Mamba, Lindokuhle Mamba, Nothando Mabila, Dumsile Dlamini, Ntombizodwa Mkhatshwa, Ntombizonke Mkhatshwa, Nokulunga Mabuza, Lihle Thobela

Kenya: Esther Wachira, Melvin Khagoitsa, Queentor Abel, Venasa Ooko, Charity Muthoni, Lavendah Idambo, Mary Mwangi, Monicah Ndhambi, Flavia Odhiambo, Marion Okira, Kelvia Achieno, Mercy Sifuna, Kreeshna Mehta, Judith Ogolla

Lesotho: Maneo Nyabela, Kananelo Molapo, Mosa Tsemane, Nthama Kobeli, Khahliso Damane, Thato Mahe, Makopano, Mabathoana, Nana Mokhachane, Mamothepane Mokoatsela, Ret’sepile Limema, Tanki Ramabitsa, Kananelo Phohlo, Paballo Pheko, Kananelo Mabitle

Malawi: Praise Maziya, Febbe Malefula, Triphonia Luka, Lidia Dimba, Sungeni Kananji, Alinafe Alfonso, Tadala Mpakwaya, Mercy Kudimba, Ketrina Chingaipe, Nellie Gamaliyele, Lucy Malino, Vannesa Phiri, Mary Mabvuka, Sophina Chinawa

Mozambique: Palmira Cuinica, Raquel Duvane, Cristina Magaia, Angelica Salomao, Isabel Chuma, Olga Matsolo, Alda Mangue, Amelia Mundudo, Irene Mulhovo, Dalciesia Duvane, Abelina Moiane, Regina Mazumba, Isabel Mabunda, Wisley Bucuane

Sierra Leone: Emma Kamara, Fatmata Parkinson, Fatu Pessima , Ramatu Turay, Jannet  Kowa, Fatu Conteh, Alice Fillie, Isha Quee, Celina Bull, Marie Turay, Hussainatu Sawanneh, Hassanatu Sawaneh, Isatu Koroma, Zainab Kamara


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

David Warner partners with 1win as their brand ambassador

Photo Credit: Instagram Photo of @davidwarner31 Former Australian cricketer David Warner has entered into a brand endorsement agreement with 1win,...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter