Sunday, July 14, 2024

ECB: Zak Crawley to captain England Men in Ireland series

Must Read

Photo Credit: ECB

Zak Crawley has been named as captain of a 13-player squad for England Men’s Metro Bank One-Day International Series against Ireland Men this month.

Crawley will lead England for the first time with his Test opening partner Ben Duckett named as vice-captain for the three-match series, which begins at Headingly on Wednesday, 20 September.

The squad includes three uncapped players, Warwickshire batter Sam Hain, Surrey wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith and Derbyshire paceman George Scrimshaw.

The England Men’s selection panel consulted with the first-class counties, and weighed their ambitions in the run-in to the end of the LV= Insurance County Championship season, before finalising the squad.

England Men’s 13-player squad:

Zak Crawley (Kent – Captain)
Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire)
Harry Brook (Yorkshire)
Brydon Carse (Durham)
Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire – Vice Captain)
Sam Hain (Warwickshire)
Will Jacks (Surrey)
Craig Overton (Somerset)
Matthew Potts (Durham)
Phil Salt (Lancashire)
George Scrimshaw (Derbyshire)
Jamie Smith (Surrey)
Luke Wood (Lancashire)

England Men v Ireland – Metro Bank One-Day Series schedule

1st Metro Bank ODI: Headingley, Leeds – 20 September
2nd Metro Bank ODI: Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 23 September
3rd Metro Bank ODI: Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol – 26 September


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

The PCA saved my life – Simon Cusden, former player turned Wellbeing coach | podcast Ep 1 Cricket is a high pressure sport and environment. Fans don't see it, but many cricketers experience anxiety, depression, stress...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter