Sunday, July 21, 2024

Cricket Australia: Australian squads for CommBank T20I and ODI Series

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced two 13-player squads for Australia’s CommBank T20 and One-Day International Series against the West Indies.

The back-to-back series will be played across Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne beginning with the first T20I at North Sydney Oval on Sunday, 1 October.

It is the first time the reigning world champions will be in action on home soil since the 2023 T20 World Cup triumph and Women’s Ashes retention.

The only change to the squad between formats is the addition of Alana King for the ODIs, who comes in for batter Grace Harris at the conclusion of the T20Is.

Alyssa Healy (finger) and Ellyse Perry (knee) both missed the third ODI against Ireland due to injury but are expected to be fully available for the West Indies series. Meg Lanning remains unavailable for selection as determined by Cricket Australia’s medical team.

Healy will continue to lead the side in Lanning’s absence with the support of all-rounder Tahlia McGrath as vice-captain.

All matches will be broadcast live on Seven, Fox Cricket, Kayo Sports and ABC Radio.

Australian Women’s T20I Squad
Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers/Sydney CC) – captain

Tahlia McGrath (Adelaide Strikers/Glenelg CC) – vice-captain
Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers/Northern Districts CC)
Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers/Bankstown CC)
Kim Garth (Melbourne Stars/Dandenong CC)

Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat/Western Suburbs CC)
Jess Jonassen (Brisbane Heat/Valley Districts CC)
Phoebe Litchfield (Sydney Thunder/Penrith CC)
Beth Mooney (Perth Scorchers/Sandgate-Redcliff CC)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers/Dandenong CC)
Megan Schutt (Adelaide Strikers/Sturt CC)
Annabel Sutherland (Melbourne Stars/Prahran CC)

Georgia Wareham (Melbourne Renegades/Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)

Australian Women’s ODI Squad

Alyssa Healy (New South Wales/Sydney CC) – captain

Tahlia McGrath (South Australia/Glenelg CC) – vice-captain
Darcie Brown (South Australia/Northern Districts CC)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales/Bankstown CC)
Kim Garth (Victoria/Dandenong CC)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland/Valleys CC)
Alana King (Western Australia/Midland Guildford CC)
Phoebe Litchfield (New South Wales/Penrith CC)
Beth Mooney (Western Australia/Sandgate-Redcliff CC)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria/Dandenong CC)
Megan Schutt (South Australia/Sturt CC)
Annabel Sutherland (Victoria/Prahran CC)

Georgia Wareham (Victoria/Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)

CA’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“We saw the depth of talent and flexibility within the squad which toured England and Ireland in the winter and as a result have selected similar squads for the upcoming series.

“Alyssa and Ellyse are on track in their return to play programs. Both are well placed to take part in Women’s National Cricket League matches later this month and are expected to be fully available for the upcoming international series.

“Alyssa embraced the added challenge of captaincy during the Ashes and will again lead the team in Meg’s absence. We’re fortunate to have plenty of international experience and strong leaders within the squad and know she will be well supported.

“Although currently unavailable for selection, Meg remains an integral part of our team and we’ll continue to support her throughout her return to play program.

Australian Women’s Team Doctor, Dr Pip Inge said:

“Meg is progressing well but remains unavailable for competitive cricket.

“No date has been set for Meg’s return to play, however, we anticipate a gradual return through domestic cricket.

“CA medical staff will continue to work closely with Meg and an update on her availability will be provided in due course.”

CommBank T20I Series
Oct 1: Australia vs. West Indies | North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Oct 2: Australia vs. West Indies | North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Oct 5: Australia vs. West Indies | Allan Border Field, Brisbane

CommBank ODI Series

Oct 8: Australia vs. West Indies | Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Oct 12: Australia vs. West Indies | CitiPower Centre, Melbourne

Oct 14: Australia vs. West Indies | CitiPower Centre, Melbourne


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

PCB statement on denying NOCs to Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen

Photo Credit: Pakistan Cricket Board Previous update on player NOCs is available here The Pakistan Cricket Board has provided the following...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter