Wednesday, July 24, 2024

The Hundred confirms Vitality Wildcard picks for 2024

Must Read

Photo Credit: The Hundred

32 players have been selected across the Men’s and Women’s Competition

The eight teams in The Hundred have added the final players to their squad, through the Vitality Wildcard Draft.

The Vitality Wildcard allows each squad to pick players based on recent form. It allows youngsters having a breakthrough year – or established players hitting their stride now – to be selected for The Hundred.

To read more on how it works, click here.

In the Women’s Competition, reigning champions Southern Brave have secured Sophie Luff and Katie Jones, an 18-year-old keeper who has been in England’s Under-19 squads.

Dani Gregory is among the returning names as she joins Manchester Originals. Gregory is the only player to have been in the winning squad across all three years of The Hundred.

Manchester Originals – Danielle Gregory & Alice Monaghan

Northern Superchargers – Jodi Grewcock & Sophia Turner

Oval Invincibles – Rachel Slater & Amara Carr

London Spirit – Abbey Freeborn & Ellie Anderson

Southern Brave – Sophie Luff & Katie Jones

Birmingham Phoenix – Fran Wilson & Alice Macleod

Welsh Fire – Georgia Davis & Kate Coppack

Trent Rockets – Aylish Cranstone & Natasha Wraith

In the Men’s Competition, Oval Invincibles have recruited Marchant de Lange and Mark Watt. De Lange was the first bowler in The Hundred’s history to take five wickets in a match, while Watt has recently been starring for Scotland at the Men’s T20 World Cup.

There are a host of first time names selected, including Watt, James Coles, Aneurin Donald, and Rishi Patel. Patel’s current form is red-hot – he’s the leading scorer in the Vitality Blast so far this summer, and scored a rapid 41-ball hundred last week.


Manchester Originals – Sonny Baker & Matthew Hurst

Birmingham Phoenix – Aneurin Donald & Rishi Patel

Trent Rockets – Ollie Robinson & Tom Alsop

Northern Superchargers – Jordan Clark & Dillon Pennington

Southern Brave – James Coles & Joe Weatherley

Welsh Fire – Mason Crane & Ben Green

Oval Invincibles – Marchant de Lange & Mark Watt

London Spirit – Ravi Bopara & Ryan Higgins


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

English Cricket in talks with IPL owners for investment in The Hundred

English cricket chiefs confirmed that they have held talks with Indian Premier League (IPL) owners about acquiring a stake...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter