Thursday, July 25, 2024

Adelaide Strikers – Preview: Strikers V Stars

Must Read

Photo Credit: Strikers Media

The Strikers will test themselves against the top-ranked Melbourne Stars in a massive clash at Adelaide Oval on Wednesday night.

Strikers v Stars
Wednesday, 22 January
Adelaide Oval – 6:40pm local

Broadcast details
Televised live on Channel Seven, Fox Cricket and Kayo
Radio broadcast via Macquarie and Crocmedia

Head to head
Adelaide Strikers: 5Melbourne Stars: 5

Last time
Adelaide remains the only team to defeat the Stars in a full match this season, with the Sixers toppling them under DLS rules on Monday. The Strikers downed the Stars by five runs on the Gold Coast late last year with Jon Wells (68*) and Alex Carey (45) setting up the win before Peter Siddle finished the job with a three-wicket haul.

Talking point
This contest shapes as a finals-like clash with both teams arguably at full strength following the return of the Australian ODI squad. The Strikers regain vice-captain Carey while the Stars have added leg-spinner Adam Zampa and batsman Peter Handscomb. Momentum is a big factor in T20 cricket and both sides won’t want to drop this one heading into the business end of BBL|09.

Stat attack
Adelaide’s bowling attack continues to be a real strength this season. Wes Agar’s four-wicket haul against Hobart saw the young paceman join Rashid Khan to sit among just four bowlers who have claimed more than three wickets in a BBL match for the club. Ish Sodhi’s 6/11 back in BBL|06 remains the club’s best bowling figures in a Big Bash innings.

Striker to watch – Alex Carey
Carey is a welcome addition to the Strikers’ squad following his stint with the Aussies in India. He averaged a handy 38 in the first half of BBL|09 which included four scores above 40 to kickstart the season. Carey’s experience and leadership also cannot be underestimated in his first game alongside captain Travis Head for the Strikers this season.

Danger player – Glenn Maxwell
The big-hitting Maxwell has lit up BBL|09 with some incredible individual performances and is always a threat. The 31-year-old was overlooked for international duties for the tour of India, but reminded national selectors of his abilities with unbeaten knocks of 40*, 59* and 83* in succession earlier in the season. The Strikers will need to keep him under control on Wednesday evening.

Adelaide Strikers squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Alex Carey
Harry Conway
Rashid Khan
Michael Neser
Liam O’Connor
Phil Salt
Matt Short
Peter Siddle
Billy Stanlake
Jake Weatherald
Jon Wells

Melbourne Stars squad
Glenn Maxwell (c)
Hilton Cartwright
Ben Dunk
Seb Gotch
Peter Handscomb
Clint Hinchliffe
Sandeep Lamichhane
Nick Larkin
Nic Maddinson
Lance Morris
Marcus Stoinis
Daniel Worrall
Adam Zampa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ICC approves 2025 Champions Trophy budget for Pakistan, omits India participation discussion

The ICC has approved a budget of Rs12.80 billion for Pakistan to host the 2025 Champions Trophy from February...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter