Saturday, May 25, 2024

Brisbane Heat: Internationals welcomed

Must Read

Photo Credit: Brisbane Heat Media

The Brisbane Heat have included international duo AB de Villiers and Mujeeb Ur Rahman for their first match of the KFC Big Bash League for tomorrow’s afternoon Gabba clash with the Adelaide Strikers.

The pair arrived in Brisbane over the weekend and will replace fellow internationals Tom Banton and Zahir Khan.
They are the only changes to the squad that lost a high-scoring encounter with the Perth Scorchers at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.
Brisbane Heat coach Darren Lehmann said the club had been well prepared for the changeover of the two internationals.
“Both AB and Mujeeb had this game as the one to aim for in terms of their first appearance this tournament for the club, and both have been playing recently and going well,’’ he said.
“We’re very pleased to welcome them and are excited about our remaining games. There’s plenty to play for and we’re keen for them to enjoy themselves and show off their skills for the fans.”
“On behalf of the club, we really wish Tom and Zahir all the best for what lies ahead with their cricket as they both have enormous potential.”
“It was great to see them display their ability and we thoroughly enjoyed having them in the squad. We hope they got plenty out of the experience,’’ he said.
Mujeeb was the Heat’s MVP last season, with the teenage Afghanistan spinner proving a handful for all teams.
He performed solidly in the Bangladesh Premier League in his stint that has just concluded, taking 15 wickets at 15.86 with an economy rate of 5.08.
De Villiers’ most recent playing stint was before Christmas when he played for the Tshwane Spartans that finished as runners-up in the Mzansi Super League in South Africa.
The right-hander scored four half centuries in the MSL, scoring 325 runs at 46.42.
Tomorrow’s match is a FOX Cricket exclusive game, which can also be accessed via a Kayo subscription. Tickets are still available via button below. 


Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers, Gabba, tomorrow 2.40pm Qld time.

50           Chris Lynn (c)
1              Max Bryant
15           Joe Burns
31           Ben Cutting
2              Josh Lalor
55           Ben Laughlin
19           James Pattinson
59           James Peirson
16           Jack Prestwidge
77           Matthew Renshaw
4              Mitch Swepson
7              Mujeeb Ur Rahman
17           AB de Villiers

(one to be omitted, 12th man to be named).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

WA Cricket: Perth Mum named Volunteer of the Year

Photo Credit: Western Australian Cricket Association WA Cricket is proud to announce Kristen Piccinini from Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter