Sunday, April 21, 2024

Cricket Australia: 2019-20 KFC Big Bash League Team of the Tournament announced

Must Read

The 2019-20 KFC Big Bash League Team of The Tournament has been revealed.

The team was selected by the head coaches of each club at the completion of the 56-game regular season and features players from six KFC BBL clubs, including current BKT Golden Bat, Marcus Stoinis, and BKT Golden Arm, Daniel Sams.

The team is:

  1. Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars)
  2. Josh Inglis (wk, Perth Scorchers)
  3. Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes)
  4. Glenn Maxwell (c, Melbourne Stars)
  5. Jon Wells (Adelaide Strikers)
  6. Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers)
  7. Tom Curran (Sydney Sixers)
  8. Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers)
  9. Daniel Sams (Sydney Thunder)
  10. Peter Siddle (Adelaide Strikers)
  11. Haris Rauf (Melbourne Stars)

A strong batting line up is headed by Melbourne Stars opener Stoinis, who broke the record for the highest individual score in KFC BBL history with 147 against the Sydney Sixers at the MCG. His 207-run partnership with Hilton Cartwright that day was also the highest in the League’s nine seasons.

Joining Stoinis in the batting line up are Josh Inglis, Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell, Jon Wells and Mitchell Marsh. Maxwell has been named the side’s captain after guiding the Melbourne Stars to top spot on the BBL|09 ladder while Wells slots in at number five, the position he made his own for the Adelaide Strikers with a 478-run haul at 68.28 apiece.

A strong bowling line up is led by Sydney Thunder paceman Sams, who set the record for the most wickets in a single campaign. He currently has 30 wickets at 14 apiece in KFC BBL|09, passing the previous record of 24 in the Thunder’s final regular season match against the Perth Scorchers.

He is joined by all-rounders Tom Curran and Rashid Khan, veteran quick Peter Siddle and Stars sensation Haris Rauf. The bolter of the season, Rauf emerged as a replacement player early in the season and ultimately earned selection for Pakistan with 17 wickets at an average of 12.58 in eight matches.

Two matches remain in KFC BBL|09, with The Challenger between the Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder this Thursday, February 6, to determine the Sydney Sixers’ opponent in The Final on Saturday, February 8.

Tickets remain available for The Challenger on Thursday from, starting at $9.00 for children, $18.00 for concessions and $25.00 for adults.

Fans can support The Big Appeal – which includes the Commbank Women’s T20 International between Australia and England, the Bushfire Cricket Bash and the KFC BBL Final – at

All three matches in The Big Appeal, plus The Challenger, will be broadcast on Seven and Fox Cricket, with matches streamed via Kayo Sports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024 – team-by-team guide

Photo Credit: ECB The Blaze Previewed by Jon Culley - ECB Reporters Network Captain: Kirstie Gordon Head Coach: Chris Guest 2023 finish: Runners-up 2023 highest...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter