Sunday, April 21, 2024

CSA: Warriors batsman Eddie Moore hits an awards’ four

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket South Africa

Warriors opening batsman Eddie Moore added four more awards to his score on Wednesday at the first virtual Warriors Season Awards.

He received the batting and player of the series awards in the 4-Day Series category, as well as Players’ player of the year and Cricketer of the Year.

Moore was narrowly beaten by VKB Knights batsman Keegan Petersen as the top run scorer in the 2019/20 4-Day Domestic Series, with 923 runs compared to Petersen’s 923.

He made his first-class debut in 2012 and his List-A and T20 debuts in 2013.

“Eddie’s awards acknowledge the consistent contribution he has made over the past few seasons, and not only the last one,” says Shafiek Abrahams, Warriors general manager – cricket.

“The real theme of the season was that everyone contributed. It was a great team effort which all the winners will acknowledge,” says Warriors head coach Robin Peterson. “It was a very closely contested list. The awards recognise the hard work the winners did for the team, and the whole squad can be proud of their performances.”

Another multiple award winner was batsman Lesiba Ngoepe, who received the batting award for the Momentum One-Day Cup, and was player of the series in the same competition.

Right arm fast bowler Lutho Sipamla, who made his debut for the Warriors at the Imperial Wanderers stadium in January 2017, received the 4-Day Series bowling award.

Seamer Stefan Tait received the Momentum One-Day Cup bowling award. Tait was on loan to the Warriors from South Western Districts, and has now signed a contract with the Warriors on the strength of his performance during the last season.

Newcomer of the Year is medium-fast bowler Glenton Stuurman.

He is one of only two uncapped national players to be invited to turn out for the KG’s Kingfishers in the inaugural 3TC Tournament to be played in an empty SuperSport Park on Saturday. Stuurman took 18 wickets at an average of 25.33 for the Warriors last season, which included a best of 5/72 at Newlands against the Cape Cobras.

“It is great to see the young newcomers like Glenton Stuurman and Stefan Tait stepping up and performing so well in a season that was unfortunately cut short,” says Abrahams.

“While there is no suitable award, we also want to pay tribute to Andrew Birch who has retired from cricket and thank him for the contribution he made to Warriors and the region,” added Abrahams.

4-Day Domestic Series awards:

Batting award: Eddie Moore

Bowling award: Lutho Sipamla

4-Day player of the series: Eddie Moore

Momentum One-Day Cup awards:

Batting award: Lesiba Ngoepe

Bowling award: Stefan Tait

Player of the series: Lesiba Ngoepe

Newcomer of the year: Glenton Stuurman

Players’ player of the year: Eddie Moore

Cricketer of the year: Eddie Moore


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024 – team-by-team guide

Photo Credit: ECB The Blaze Previewed by Jon Culley - ECB Reporters Network Captain: Kirstie Gordon Head Coach: Chris Guest 2023 finish: Runners-up 2023 highest...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter