Monday, May 27, 2024

Sydney Sixers: Philippe confirmed for his first Aussie tour

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers Western Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Josh Philippe has been confirmed for his first Australian tour.

Uncapped Philippe, 23, joins four of his Sixers teammates that claimed the BBL|09 title, earlier this year, in the final 21-man Australian T20 and One-Day squad to travel to England later this month.

Sean Abbott, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon and Steve Smith have all been selected.

Philippe was the Sixers BBL|09 Player of the Tournament after scoring 487 runs including five half-centuries.

The 21 players were selected from a preliminary 26-player squad announced in July.

Cricket Australia (CA) and the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have agreed to detailed biosecurity and travel plans for what will be the first international tour undertaken by an Australian national sporting team since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

The CA board approved the plans at a meeting last week and the Australian Government on Wednesday granted exemptions for outbound travel for the touring Australian squad.

The Australian men’s team will depart from Perth on Sunday, August 23 and travel to Derby.

They will play four practice matches – three T20s and one 50-over game – before playing England in three Twenty20 Internationals and three One-Day Internationals at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton and Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester. Both venues have hotels on site.

Cricket Australia has worked closely with the Federal and Western Australian Governments as well as health authorities in planning the tour.

Aaron Finch will captain the side with Pat Cummins as vice-captain.

Philippe joins fellow young guns Daniel Sams and Tasmanian fast bowler Riley Meredith in the squad.

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has chosen the following Australian T20 and ODI squad for the Qantas Tour of England:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)

Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Riley Meredith (Tasmania)

Josh Philippe (Western Australia)

Daniel Sams (New South Wales)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Steven Smith (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Andrew Tye (Western Australia)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (New South Wales)

Australian Men’s Qantas Tour of England matches:

Friday, Sept 4: 1st T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Sunday, Sept 6: 2nd T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Tuesday, Sept 8: 3rd T20 International, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton

Friday, Sept 11: 1st ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Sunday, Sept 13: 2nd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Wednesday, Sept 16: 3rd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket NSW: Breakers squad confirmed for season 2024/25

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW A quartet of rising teenagers will bolster the NSW Women’s team for 2024/25 with 19-year-old’s Sienna...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter