Monday, June 17, 2024

SLC: Major Club Youth (U-23) Tournament to Begin on September 16

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sri Lanka Cricket

03rd September, 2020

The Major Club Youth (U-23) tournament conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket will commence on September 16, heralding the start of a new cricket season. The tournament will run from September 16 to October 11.

A total of 26 clubs who are qualified to play in the Major Club League Tier A and B tournaments for the season 2020-21 are eligible to participate in the Major Club Youth (Under 23) tournament.

The clubs have been divided into four groups and all the matches will be one-day 50-overs a side.

According to the fixtures, each team will play six first-round matches in group A and D which consist of seven teams in each group while teams in group B and C will play five matches.

All teams will play each other once in their respective groups on a round-robin basis where the top team in each group at the end of the league round will progress to the knockout stage – the semi-finals and final. 

The defending champions are Colts Cricket Club while Chilaw Marians were the runner-up during the last season.

Major Club Youth Tournament 2020/21
Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Army SCChilaw MCCColts CCSSC
Navy SCAir Force SCNCCTamil Union C & AC
BRCRagama CCSaracens SCBloomfield C & AC
Badureliya CCLankan CCKalutara Town ClubCCC
Police SCNegombo CCSLPA SCGalle CC
Nugegoda S & WCPanadura SCMoors SCKurunegala YCC
Sebastinites CKandy Customs CC
16-SepArmy SCNugegoda S & WCPanagoda
WednesdayNavy SCPolice SCWelisara
 BRCBadureliya CCBRC
 Chilaw MCCPanadura SCMCG Katunayake
 Air Force SCNegombo CCKatunayake
 Ragama CCLankan CCTBC
 Colts CCMoors SCColts
 Kalutara Town ClubSaracens SCSurrey
 SSCKurunegala YCCSSC
 Tamil Union C & ACGalle CCP Sara
 Bloomfield C & ACCCCBloomfield
19-SepSebastinites CArmy SCDe Zoysa
SaturdayNugegoda S & WCNavy SCSurrey
 Police SCBRCPolice Park
 Negombo CCChilaw MCCMCG Katunayake
 Lankan CCAir Force SCTBC
 Panadura SCRagama CCPanadura
 SLPA SCColts CCDombagoda
 NCCKalutara Town ClubNCC
 Moors SCSaracens SCMoors
 Kandy Customs CCSSCSSC
 Tamil Union C & ACKurunegala YCCP Sara
 Bloomfield C & ACGalle CCBloomfield
20-SepArmy SCPolice SCPanagoda
SundayNavy SCBadureliya CCWelisara
 BRCSebastinites CBRC
 Chilaw MCCLankan CCMCG Katunayake
 Air Force SCRagama CCKatunayake
 Panadura SCNegombo CCPanadura
 Colts CCKalutara Town ClubColts
 NCCSaracens SCNCC
 Moors SCSLPA SCMoors
 Tamil Union C & ACCCCP Sara
 Bloomfield C & ACKandy Customs CCBloomfield
23-SepNavy SCArmy SCWelisara
WednesdayNugegoda S & WCBadureliya CCSurrey
 Police SCSebastinites CPolice Park
 Tamil Union C & ACSSCP Sara
 CCCKurunegala YCCCCC
 Galle CCKandy Customs CCTBC
SundayBadureliya CCSebastinites CSurrey
 Police SCNugegoda S & WCPolice Park
 Bloomfield C & ACTamil Union C & ACBloomfield
 Kandy Customs CCCCCCCC
 Galle CCKurunegala YCCTBC
01-OctBadureliya CCArmy SCSurrey
Thursday (Poya)Sebastinites CNavy SCDe Zoysa
 Nugegoda S & WCBRCBRC
 Ragama CCChilaw MCCMCG Katunayake
 Panadura SCAir Force SCPanadura
 Negombo CCLankan CCBloomfield
 Saracens SCColts CCColts
 Moors SCNCCMoors
 SLPA SCKalutara Town ClubDombagoda
 Kandy Customs CCTamil Union C & ACTBC
 Kurunegala YCCBloomfield C & ACWelagedara
04-OctArmy SCBRCPanagoda
SundayBadureliya CCPolice SCSurrey
 Sebastinites CNugegoda S & WCDe Zoysa
 Chilaw MCCAir Force SCMCG Katunayake
 Ragama CCNegombo CCBloomfield
 Lankan CCPanadura SCPanadura
 Colts CCNCCColts
 Kalutara Town ClubMoors SCMattegoda
 SSCBloomfield C & ACSSC
 Kurunegala YCCKandy Customs CCWelagedara
DateSF MatchVenue
07-OctWinner G 1 – Winner G 4 – TBC
WednesdayWinner G 2 –Winner G 3 – TBC
11-OctWinner SF1 – Winner SF2 –  TBC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

UK Cricket World Shares Eid ul Adha Greetings

Photo Credit: Twitter Photo of @ECB_cricket The cricket community in England and Scotland shared Eid greetings starting Sunday to mark...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter