Sunday, May 26, 2024

Adelaide Strikers: Taylor completes WBBL|06 squad

Must Read

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers

West Indies captain Stafanie Taylor will rejoin the Adelaide Strikers for rebel WBBL|06, completing its squad.

Taylor joined the Strikers last season however made only two appearances due to international commitments and injury.

In her first match in blue Taylor produced figures of 3/26 against the Melbourne Renegades at Karen Rolton Oval, proving just how dangerous an asset she is.

The 29-year old has been involved in the Big Bash since its inception, playing 58 matches for the Sydney Thunder, including their WBBL|01 championship.

Across her 60 WBBL matches the right-hander has scored 1074 runs at 26.20, while also taking 49 wickets and providing plenty of entertainment in the outfield.

A genuine allrounder, with off-spin bowling and top-order prowess, Taylor is currently the No.1 ranked ODI batter and No. 2 ranked ODI allrounder according to the ICC Player Rankings.

No stranger to breaking records, in 2013 she became the first player (male or female) to be ranked the ICC’s number one batter and bowler simultaneously.

Taylor said:

“I’m really pleased that I was able to return to the Strikers in a competition that has been so great for my career.”

“The Strikers are a fantastic franchise and I can’t wait to get started this season.”

Strikers Head Coach Luke Williams said:

“We are thrilled to be bringing Stafanie back who proved to be such an exciting player in a short period last year.

“We feel that we have a really balanced, allround squad, and we all can’t wait for the season to be underway.”

Taylor is the third and final international for the Strikers, alongside captain Suzie Bates, and South African power hitter Laura Wolvaardt.

The Adelaide Strikers will kick off their WBBL|06 campaign on Sunday, 25 October against the Hobart Hurricanes at Hurstville Oval.

Full Strikers squad: Suzie Bates (c)(NZ), Tahlia McGrath (Aus), Megan Schutt (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Darcie Brown, Sarah Coyte, Ellie Falconer, Katie Mack, Tegan McPharlin, Annie O’Neil, Bridget Patterson, Madeline Penna, Alex Price, Amanda-Jade Wellington.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

WA Cricket: Perth Mum named Volunteer of the Year

Photo Credit: Western Australian Cricket Association WA Cricket is proud to announce Kristen Piccinini from Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter