Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Sydney Sixers: A day out for Sixers spinners

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

Lloyd Pope and Steve O’Keefe made the most of their Saturday claiming 11 wickets between them.

Sydney Sixers leg-spinner Lloyd Pope began his Sheffield Shield season in ideal fashion claiming five wickets for South Australia on Saturday, while fellow Sixers spinner Steve O’Keefe picked up six for Manly-Warringah in NSW Premier Cricket.

Pope bamboozled the West Australian batsmen dismissing each of the top five in the batting order, highlighted by a superb wrong’un that completely deceived one-time Test opener Cameron Bancroft (46). The 20-year-old finished day one at Karen Rolton Oval in Adelaide with 5-94 from 21 overs.

O’Keefe claimed 6-36 at Manly Oval on the second Saturday of his club’s First Grade match against St George. The wily left-arm finger spinner conceded less than two runs per over.

Manly comfortably winning on first innings by 218 runs courtesy of O’Keefe’s spell.

Sixers left-arm quick Ben Dwarshuis also claimed 4-43 for Sutherland against Bankstown.

Another of the Sixers spinners, Ben Manenti, enjoyed a good all-round performance for his club, Sydney, across the two Saturdays.

The off spinner picked up 3-31 from 14.4 overs and scored 58 from 47 balls in Sydney’s comprehensive first innings win over Mosman.

The Sixers’ BBL squad now consists of 15 players: Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Tom Curran, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Moises Henriques (c), Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Ben Manenti, Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter