Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Queensland Cricket: Gabba Test Confirmed

Must Read

Photo Credit: Twitter Cover Photo of @GabbaBrisbane

Australia’s 31-match winning streak at the Gabba will be the ace in its hand for the Test series against India this season, with Brisbane to host the fourth and final Vodafone Test of the summer from 15 January 2021.

Cricket Australia today announced its revised International summer of fixtures against India, which will commence its tour next month in Sydney.

Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson said the confirmed schedule provided additional certainty for cricket fans this summer.

“Everyone accepts that this season is not like any we have ever encountered, and we respect and understand that decisions had to be made to ensure Australian Cricket could host as much international cricket as possible this summer,’’ he said.

“The important thing for Australian Cricket is that we have an International summer of fixtures confirmed; and an upgraded Gabba having a Test match from Friday 15 January during the school holidays is a very good outcome for Queensland.”

“Hosting a potential series decider against India is something to look forward too; and in a sense, sets the scene for the Gabba being the venue for the opening Test of the Ashes series next summer as has previously been announced.

“While the Gabba was originally scheduled to host the opening Test in Brisbane, we’re excited about the Fourth Test being held here, as we know the fans will be too. There is the potential for the series, and Border-Gavaskar Trophy, being on the line which would make for an even bigger event.”

“Australia hasn’t lost a Test there since 1988 so it remains a very important factor in ensuring the Australian team remains the No.1 ranked team in the world.” Svenson said.

The Australian men’s team is currently ranked No. 1 on the International Cricket Council’s Test standings, although India has won three of the previous four series against Australia, including a first ever series win on Australian soil in 2018-19. 

The men’s international summer will commence with the three-match Dettol ODI Series at the Sydney Cricket Ground (November 27, 29) and Manuka Oval, Canberra (December 2). That will be followed by the three-match Dettol T20 International Series at Manuka Oval, Canberra (December 4) and the Sydney Cricket Ground (December 6, 8). 

Tickets for the Gabba Test will be available from


Dettol ODI Series v India                                                                                                           

First ODI: Friday, November 27 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night)

Second ODI: Sunday, November 29 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Day-Night)

Third ODI: Wednesday, December 2 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Day-Night)

Dettol T20 INTL Series v India

First T20: Friday, December 4 – Manuka Oval, Canberra (Night)

Second T20: Sunday, December 6 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night)

Third T20: Tuesday, December 8 – Sydney Cricket Ground (Night)

Vodafone Test Series v India

First Test: December 17-21 – Adelaide Oval (Day-Night)

Second Test: December 26-30 – Melbourne Cricket Ground

Third Test: January 7-11 – Sydney Cricket Ground

Fourth Test: January 15-19 – The Gabba, Brisbane

*The matches and travel remain subject to any relevant government restrictions or requirements.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar traded to Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers After eight seasons in blue the Adelaide Strikers are farewelling Wes Agar, with the fast bowler...

More Articles Like This