Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Cricket Australia: Rebel WBBL|06 Award Winners Announced

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

Perth Scorchers all-rounder and captain Sophie Devine has claimed back-to-back Player of the Tournament awards, with emerging Adelaide Strikers fast-bowler Darcie Brown named the rebel Young Gun for WBBL|06.

In her first season with the Scorchers, Devine compiled 448 runs at an average of 56 including a century and three half-centuries, while also claiming five wickets with the ball. The New Zealand captain played a pivotal role in guiding the Scorchers to the WBBL|06 Finals, with the Perth side set to face the Melbourne Stars in the first semi-final tomorrow night.
Devine polled 31 votes ahead of Melbourne Stars captain Meg Lanning and Sydney Thunder all-rounder Heather Knight.
Votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the standing umpires at the end of each match meaning a player can receive up to six votes per match.
Rebel WBBL|06 Player of the Tournament Votes
1. Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers) – 31 votes
2. Meg Lanning (Melbourne Stars) – 29 votes
3. Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder) – 28 votes
4. Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat) – 22 votes
    Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers) – 22 votes
5. Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars) – 21 votes
    Mignon du Preez (Melbourne Stars) – 21 votes
WBBL|06 was also a memorable tournament for 17-year-old fast bowler Darcie Brown who was named rebel Young Gun in her debut season; a remarkable feat given she was also completing her year 12 exams whilst in the WBBL Village.

The South Australian product tormented opposition batters with her raw pace, claiming ten wickets in 13 matches with best figures of 3-13 and an impressive economy rate of 5.52 runs per over.

Following each round, the Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) submitted a weekly nomination with an overall winner confirmed at the end of the minor rounds. The following criteria was used to select the weekly nominations and overall winner:

  • Participants must be under 21 at the start of the season
  • Winner will be selected based on on-field performance and on-field and off-field attitude
  • The winner will demonstrate skill, tenacity and good sportsmanship

Brown was nominated alongside Sydney Thunder duo Rachel Trenaman and Phoebe Litchfield, Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes) and Courtney Webb (Melbourne Renegades).

The official rebel WBBL Team of the Tournament has also been revealed, with players featuring from five of the eight WBBL clubs. The side, led by Meg Lanning, features no more than three internationals as per the WBBL playing conditions.

rebel WBBL|06 Team of the Tournament
1. Beth Mooney (wk) (Perth Scorchers)
2. Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers)
3. Meg Lanning (c) (Melbourne Stars)
4. Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder)
5. Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars)
6. Laura Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)
7. Alana King (Melbourne Stars)
8. Sarah Coyte (Adelaide Strikers)
9. Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder)
10. Taneale Peschel (Perth Scorchers)
11. Sam Bates (Sydney Thunder)
12. Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

Coach: Ashley Noffke (Brisbane Heat)

The selection panel was made up former players Lisa Sthalekar (Seven Network) and Mel Jones (Fox Cricket), journalist Laura Jolly and National Selector, Shawn Flegler.

The rebel WBBL|06 Finals series gets underway tomorrow night with the Melbourne Stars and Perth Scorchers facing off in the first semi-final, before the Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder play off for a finals berth on Thursday.

All three finals, to be played at North Sydney Oval under lights for the first time, will be held at 7:10pm AEDT and will be broadcast live nationwide on Seven, Foxtel, Kayo and ABC Radio.

The WBBL is teaming up with Cricket Australia official charity partner, the Alannah & Madeline Foundation during the finals to help educate and reduce online harm to children. Funds raised go towards providing schools, libraries, communities and families with the skills and knowledge to be smart, safe and responsible online through delivery of the Foundation’s expert and evidence-base programs. Fans can help keep our kids safe online and donate today at

Tickets to the rebel WBBL|06 Finals series are on sale now via, with limited tickets available to the Final. Adult tickets are $10, with entry for children 15 and under free. Children will need to redeem a free ticket via Ticketek to gain access to the venue.


Wednesday, November 25, 7:10pm AEDT, rebel WBBL Semi Final 1 – Melbourne Stars v Perth Scorchers

Thursday, November 26, 7:10pm AEDT, rebel WBBL Semi Final 2 – Brisbane Heat v Sydney Thunder

Saturday, November 28, 7:10pm AEDT, rebel WBBL Final, winner SF1 v winner SF2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA: Cricket Boland announce NLC partnership

Cricket Boland is proud to announce that 42 of its clubs have been selected as beneficiaries of the National...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter