Friday, May 24, 2024

Perth Scorchers: Devine Crowned back-to-back Player of the Tournament

Must Read

Photo Credit: ICC

Perth Scorchers skipper Sophie Devine has been crowned the rebel WBBL|06 Player of the Tournament after playing a starring role in the Scorchers’ progress to the finals.The powerful opener has become the first player in the history of the WBBL to claim the honour in consecutive seasons.

Devine polled 31 votes ahead of Melbourne Stars captain Meg Lanning and Sydney Thunder all-rounder Heather Knight.

The skipper has been irrepressible with the bat, amassing 448 runs at an average of 56 and a strike-rate of 130.23.

Devine led the League for sixes with 18 this season on her way to 100 sixes – becoming the first player in the WBBL to reach the milestone.

Her highest score of 103 runs off 68 balls came in the Scorchers emphatic victory over the Sydney Sixers on Sunday 8 November.

Devine claimed five Player of the Match awards from just 10 matches played and hit a century and three half centuries over her first season with the Scorchers.

Votes are awarded on a 3-2-1 basis by the standing umpires at the end of each match meaning a player can receive up to six votes per match.

Rebel WBBL|06 Player of the Tournament Votes

1. Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers) – 31 votes
2. Meg Lanning (Melbourne Stars) – 29 votes
3. Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder) – 28 votes
4. Grace Harris (Brisbane Heat) – 22 votes
5. Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers) – 22 votes
6. Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars) – 21 votes
7. Mignon du Preez (Melbourne Stars) – 21 votes

The official rebel WBBL Team of the Tournament has also been revealed, with three Scorchers players featuring in the side led by Meg Lanning.

rebel WBBL|06 Team of the Tournament

1. Beth Mooney (wk) (Perth Scorchers)
2. Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers)
3. Meg Lanning (c) (Melbourne Stars)
4. Heather Knight (Sydney Thunder)
5. Natalie Sciver (Melbourne Stars)
6. Laura Kimmince (Brisbane Heat)
7. Alana King (Melbourne Stars)
8. Sarah Coyte (Adelaide Strikers)
9. Hannah Darlington (Sydney Thunder)
10. Taneale Peschel (Perth Scorchers)
11. Sam Bates (Sydney Thunder)
12. Darcie Brown (Adelaide Strikers)

The selection panel was made up former players Lisa Sthalekar (Seven Network) and Mel Jones (Fox Cricket), journalist Laura Jolly and National Selector, Shawn Flegler.

The rebel WBBL|06 Finals series gets underway tomorrow night with the Melbourne Stars and Perth Scorchers facing off in the first semi-final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket8: Fractional CTO – Sportsbook & Gaming

Cricket8 London Area, United Kingdom Posted: 23 May 2024 Link to Apply: About the job Fractional: 8-10hrs per week on average. Location: UK based...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter