Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Melbourne Stars: West Indian Andre Fletcher signs with Stars, Bairstow withdraws

Must Read

Photo Credit: Melbourne Stars

The Melbourne Stars have signed West Indian T20 opening batsman and wicketkeeper Andre Fletcher following confirmation that Jonny Bairstow has had to withdraw from the BBL after being recalled by the ECB.

Fletcher has been in New Zealand with the West Indies T20 squad and is a team mate of fellow Stars signing Nicholas Pooran.

Fletcher is vastly experienced on the T20 circuit playing more than 200 T20 domestic matches around the world including in the Caribbean Premier League, the Canadian GT20, Pakistan Super League and Bangladesh Premier League.

He played a key role in the St Lucia Zouks reaching the CPL Final this year.

Fletcher said, “I’m really looking forward to coming over to the Melbourne Stars and being part of what should be an exciting season ahead. Hopefully I can bring my brand of batting and recent form to the Stars during the BBL.”

Melbourne Stars Head Coach David Hussey said, “We’re naturally disappointed Jonny won’t be able to link up with us this season but we wish him well on his recall and England’s winter tours,” Hussey said.

“We’re glad Andre was in a position to join us and he’ll bring plenty of power and entertainment at the top of the batting order. Andre is a former T20 World Cup winner with the West Indies so he knows what it takes to succeed in major tournaments and I’m confident he’ll be a great asset around our group.”

Fletcher is expected to be available until around Australia Day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

PCB: Schedule of training and media activities for Pakistan v West Indies women’s T20I series

Photo Credit: Pakistan Cricket Board The West Indies women’s cricket team and Pakistan women’s cricket team will feature in five...

More Articles Like This