Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Brisbane Heat All Stars revealed

Must Read

Photo Credit: Brisbane Heat

The votes are in and Brisbane Heat fans, and one in particular, are celebrating the confirmation of the ultimate Brisbane Heat All Star team.

Recently-engaged Heat fan Lachlan Moriarty was the lucky winner drawn at random who received the $2,000 Betta Home Living voucher just in time for Christmas.

He lodged one of the 6,312 entries received from fans who were given the opportunity to vote for their favourite 11 players and a 12th man in the month-long promotion that celebrates 10 years of the Heat in KFC Big Bash League.

67 players attracted votes, with a plethora of world class players in the final all-time teal dream team.

The final 12 players was, in batting order:

  1. Matthew Hayden            
  2. Brendon McCullum        
  3. Chris Lynn          
  4. AB de Villiers     
  5. Shane Watson   
  6. Ben Cutting       
  7. Dan Christian     
  8. Andrew Flintoff 
  9. Dan Vettori        
  10. James Pattinson              
  11. Ryan Harris        
  12. Mitch Swepson

In all, the top 20 vote-gathers were:

  1. Chris Lynn
  2. Brendon McCullum
  3. Ben Cutting
  4. AB de Villiers
  5. Dan Vettori
  6. Shane Watson
  7. Andrew Flintoff
  8. Matthew Hayden
  9. Dan Christian
  10. Ryan Harris
  11. James Pattinson
  12. Mitch Swepson 
  13. Ben Laughlin
  14. Marnus Labuschagne
  15. James Hopes
  16. Joe Burns
  17. Mujeeb Rahman
  18. Tom Banton
  19. Jimmy Peirson
  20. Matt Renshaw

Heat principal partner CUA, major partner Betta and official sponsors National Storage, Toyota and Village Roadshow Theme Parks backed the All Stars concept which brought together Heat fans in the lead-in to the opening home game for the Heat on Wednesday night at the Gabba.

The Heat played in the first ever game in the BBL, with a team containing Hayden, McCullum and Vettori taking on the Sydney Sixers, including Brett Lee, at the SCG.

Brisbane won the competition in BBL|02 and have forged a reputation as one of the competition’s most thrilling teams across the ensuing seasons.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar traded to Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers After eight seasons in blue the Adelaide Strikers are farewelling Wes Agar, with the fast bowler...

More Articles Like This