Saturday, April 13, 2024

Cricket Canada: King City Hosts August 13-15 2021 Canadian National Women’s Cricket Championships

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Canada

From Friday August 13 to Sunday, August 15, 2021 the turf-wicket pitches of King City’s Maple Leaf Cricket Club (13811 Dufferin Street) will be the center of attention as Canada’s very best female cricketers vie for competitive honors at the 2021 Canadian National Women’s Championships. The first of its kind to be held since 2018.

Thirty-six women’s cricketers will be participating in the Championships, which will involve three teams playing against in other in a T20 round-robin match format. Maple Greens, Orange Oaks and Cedar Blues are the names that have been designated for the three participating teams in the Cricket Canada hosted Championships. 

Three matches will be played on Friday, August 13, two on Saturday August 14 and one on Sunday August 15. The first of Friday’s three matches will be played from 9:30 am to 12-15 pm; the second from 1:00 pm – 3:45 pm and the third from 4:30 pm – 7:15 pm. Saturday’s first match will be played from 12:30 pm – 3:15 pm and the second from 4:00 pm – 6:45 pm. Sunday’s Tournament conclusion match will be played from 9:00 am – 11:45 am.

Of the thirty-six participating players, twenty-four are Ontario based. The remaining twelve have been gathered from Cricket Canada’s other Member Provinces.

Performances at the August 13-15, 2021 Canadian National Women’s Cricket Championships will subsequently be used by the National Selection Panel to select the Canada’s team to participate in next month’s USA hosted ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier. The standard of cricket that will be played during the National Championships is therefore expected to be very high standard as all participants will be giving of their very best in order to secure a place on the Canadian squad for the ICC America’s Qualifier.

The 2021 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier is scheduled to be played later this year. The matches will be played as Women’s Twenty20 Internationals (WT20Is), with the top team progressing to the 2022 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament. Argentina, Brazil, Canada and USA will be the four participating countries. The Qualifiers will also be the first time since 2012 that Argentina and Brazil will be competing in an ICC women’s event.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

PCA: Women’s players seek assurances over equitable future

Photo Credit: Professional Cricketers' Association PCA conduct pre-season meetings with all eight women’s regions  Research gathered across equity priorities...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter