Monday, June 17, 2024

CWI: Defending champions bowl off T20 World Cup against England

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket West Indies

Defending champions, West Indies, will take on England in their first game of the International Cricket Council’s Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium on Saturday, October 23, it was confirmed today as the ICC unveiled the complete schedule of the 16-team marquee event.

The two-time World Champions will look to get the defence of their title off to a winning start in what will be a re-match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2016 final at Eden Gardens, which saw them snatch the title from England thanks to a superb Man-of-the-Match display by Marlon Samuels and Carlos Brathwaite’s four consecutive sixes in the last over.

West Indies captain Kieron Pollard said:

“We are excited to begin defence of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title later this year. T20 cricket is dynamic, and the international scene is highly competitive, with players constantly pushing the boundaries of innovation and we are expecting a spectacular event in the UAE and Oman.”

Pollard added:

“We have particularly interesting Super 12 group, which sees us come up against Australia, England and South Africa. We can’t wait to get started! West Indian cricketers have always played an exciting brand of cricket and I am sure our fans in the Caribbean and all over the world are highly anticipating seeing us in action”.

West Indies are the only team to win the ICC T20 World Cup twice. They did so in 2012 against Sri Lanka at the Premadasa in Colombo and four years later against England in Kolkata. On both occasions Daren Sammy was the captain. They also reached the semi-finals on two other occasions – in 2009 in England and 2014 in Bangladesh.

West Indies Match Schedule

October 23: v England at Dubai (6pm/10am Eastern Caribbean/9am Jamaica)

October 26: v South Africa at Dubai (2pm/6am Eastern Caribbean/5am Jamaica)

October 29: v B2 at Sharjah (2pm/8am Eastern Caribbean/7am Jamaica)

November 4: v A1, at Abu Dhabi (6pm/10am Eastern Caribbean/9am Jamaica)
November 6: v Australia at Abu Dhabi (2pm/6am Eastern Caribbean/5am Jamaica)

The groupings:

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands, and Namibia
Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Oman

(Top two teams from each group advance to Super 12s)

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2.

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B1.

(Top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals)


November 10: Group 1 winner v Group 1 second at Abu Dhabi (6pm/10am Eastern Caribbean/9am Jamaica)
November 11: Group B winner v Group A second at Dubai (6pm/10am Eastern Caribbean/9am Jamaica)

November14: Final at Dubai (6pm/10am Eastern Caribbean/9am Jamaica)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

UK Cricket World Shares Eid ul Adha Greetings

Photo Credit: Twitter Photo of @ECB_cricket The cricket community in England and Scotland shared Eid greetings starting Sunday to mark...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter