Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Perth Scorchers: Mitch, Shelley and WBBL team named SportWest finalists

Must Read

Photo Credit: Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers superstar allrounder Mitch Marsh – the hero of Australia’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup triumph – is in the mix to receive WA’s most prestigious sporting gong.Marsh was recently confirmed as a finalist for the WA Sport Star of the Year award, capping off a 2021 campaign that saw him rise from the fringes of the national side to be recognised among the world’s best white ball batters.

The powerful right-hander was named Player of the Match in November’s T20 World Cup final, guiding Australia to the tricky 173-run target set by New Zealand with an unbeaten 50-ball 77 in Dubai.

While that innings proved the crowning jewel of a stunning tournament, Marsh’s form leading into the showpiece event was equally impressive.

He notched up 627 runs at 36.88 with six-half centuries in 2021, ranking him fourth in the world for runs scored behind Pakistan stars Mohammad Rizwan (1326) and Babar Azam (939), and New Zealand stalwart Martin Guptill (678).

In turn, Marsh claimed Australia’s T20I Player of the Year award, and was just one vote behind pace bowler Mitchell Starc in the Allan Border Medal count.

Alongside Marsh, WA Cricket has finalists in six other categories at the SportWest Awards.

Perth Scorchers’ WBBL side (Team of the Year) enjoyed an outstanding season, finishing atop the WBBL ladder before taking home their maiden title in November.

A record-breaking standalone WBBL crowd of 15,511 and the largest ever broadcast audience of 535,000 watched on as Perth surged to a clinical 12-run victory over Adelaide Strikers at Optus Stadium.

Perth Head Coach Shelley Nitschke (KPMG Coach of the Year) was crucial to her team’s fortunes.

Nitschke – an assistant coach for the Australian Women’s team – fostered a professional, calm and welcoming environment that empowered Perth’s players to express themselves on-field and off. Her reputation as one of the country’s premier cricketing mentors was subsequently enhanced. 

The 2021 SportWest Awards will be held on Thursday 24 February in the Locker Room at Optus Stadium.

Mitchell Marsh – WA Sport Star
Christina Matthews – DLGSC Sports Administrator of the Year
Shelley Nitschke – KPMG Coach of the Year
Perth Scorchers WBBL – Team of the Year
Teague Wyllie – rebel Junior Sport Star
Leschenault Cricket Club – revoluntioniseSPORT Community Club of the Year – John Gilmour Medal
Margaret River Hawks Cricket Club – Healthway Healthy Club of the Year


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter