Saturday, May 25, 2024

Melbourne Stars BBL Team of the Decade announced

Must Read

Photo Credit: Melbourne Stars

The Melbourne Stars are proud to present the Team of the Decade, brought to you by MG.

Stars fans and members from all over the world have voted for the Team of the Decade and after tens of thousands of entries the results are in.

1. Luke Wright – Selected in 67% of teams
A fan favourite, Wright joined the Melbourne Stars in BBL|01 and amassed 1,479 runs in his 7 seasons in Green. He is a two time player of the year winner and his century against the Renegades is still fondly remembered today.

2. Marcus Stoinis – Selected in 95% of teams
Establishing himself at the top of the order for the best part of a decade, Stoinis is the Stars’ second highest runs scorer of all time. With the ability to muscle any attack with the bat, he has also shown his all rounder qualities with the ball too.

3. Kevin Pietersen – Selected in 86% of teams
One of the biggest personalities in the history of the BBL, KP made an instant impact at the Stars. Scoring over 1100 runs at a strike rate of over 137, he slots in at number three.

4. Glenn Maxwell (c) – Selected in 99% of teams
Voted in as captain by the fans, Glenn Maxwell is synonymous with the Stars. Whether he’s thrilling the MCG crowd with the bat, ball or in the field, Maxi has been a standout performer, highlighted by his record breaking innings of 154* in BBL|11.

5. David Hussey – Selected in 62% of teams
Often underrated for his ability to hit the ground running with the bat, Hussey proved his class over 6 seasons with the Stars. He was a constant figure in the Stars middle order, along with handy off-spin early in his career. He will enter his 3rd season as coach of the Stars in BBL|12.

6. Brad Hodge – Selected in 59% of teams
Hodge showed his class with the Stars in two outstanding seasons. He scored the 3rd most runs in the competition in 2012-13 at a strike rate of 144.92.

7. Peter Handscomb (wk) – Selected in 54% of teams
Handscomb appeared for the Stars 51 times, often taking the gloves, adding to his versatility. A classy middle order batter, highlighted by his century against the Perth Scorchers in just his 7th innings.

8. Dwayne Bravo – Selected in 67% of teams
The West Indian all-rounder proved himself as an elite performer for the Stars, given his ability with bat and ball. Only going wicketless six times in his Stars career, Bravo was reliable with the ball and could be explosive with the bat.

9. James Faulkner – Selected in 86% of teams
The finisher as he became known, played 45 games for the Stars, highlighted by a strike rate of over 140 and a wonderful ability to use variation in his pace bowling, picking up the emerging player award in BBL|01.

10. Adam Zampa – Selected in 92% of teams
Australia’s best white ball spinner has established himself as the Stars’ key bowling weapon since crossing from the Strikers in BBL|05. Zampa’s variation is world class and he is never afraid to bowl at the death.

11. Lasith Malinga – Selected in 81% of teams
Malinga quickly established himself as the premier fast bowler in T20 cricket. His ability to bowl at the death became a trademark and he still holds the best bowling figures in BBL history with his performance of 6/7 against the Perth Scorchers in BBL|01.

Stay tuned on Monday for the announcement of the Player of the Decade.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

WA Cricket: Perth Mum named Volunteer of the Year

Photo Credit: Western Australian Cricket Association WA Cricket is proud to announce Kristen Piccinini from Wembley Districts Junior Cricket Club...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter