ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards 2022 Preview

Must Read

The ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards for the 2021-22 season will once again be presented digitally this year, with three daily shows starting at 11am from next Tuesday April 12.

The three shows will be broadcast live on Spark Sport, NZC YouTube and, with a combined full program replay on Duke on Saturday April 16 from 4:15pm.

Tuesday’s opening day will showcase the short-form of the game with the men’s and women’s Dream11 Super Smash Players of the Year along with the ANZ T20 International awards, while the NZC Community winners will also be announced.

Day two sees the First-Class and Domestic batting and bowling cups handed out along with the men’s and women’s ANZ ODI Players of the Year, and the G.J. Gardner Homes Umpire of the Year award.

Thursday’s final day will see the presentation of the men’s and women’s Domestic Players of the Year, the ANZ Test Player of the Year, the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket, and the supreme playing award – the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal. 

Two of the three shows will also feature live guest appearances by retiring BLACKCAPS great Ross Taylor and WHITE FERNS star Melie Kerr.

A list of the awards up for grabs can be found below, along with the winners from last year.

2021 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Award Winners

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Jeff Crowe

ANZ International Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury)

ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Devon Conway(Wellington)

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay(Canterbury)

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury)

Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)

Men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Finn Allen (Wellington)  

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury)

The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Sarah Asmussen (Canterbury)

G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown

NZC Community Awards 

Gillette Venus Cup Player of the Year: Nensi Patel (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Gillette Cup Player of the Year: Angus Sidey (Christchurch Boys’ High School)

Club of the Year: Suburbs New Lynn  

Volunteer of the Year: Fiona Hewetson (Taradale District Cricket Club)

Official of the Year: Roger Woolmer (Auckland Cricket)

Cricket Development Officer of the Year: Ramesh Subasinghe (Waikato Valley Cricket Association)

Best Female Engagement Initiative: Womens TONK (North Shore Cricket Club) 

Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Karl Treiber (Kamo Cricket Club)

Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Jeremy Busby (Cricket Wellington Umpires & Scorers Association) 

Sir Jack Newman: Mark Simkin (Motueka Cricket Club)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter