Cricket Australia: 2022 State Cricket Awards

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia congratulates the nine individual and team winners of the 2021-22 State Cricket Awards following a memorable domestic season.

Phil Gillespie has received the Cricket Australia Umpire Award for his exceptional contributions at both international and domestic level.

Gillespie made his Test debut during the Commbank Women’s international series between Australia and India, and his strong performances across the domestic season earned him on-field appointments to both the KFC BBL and Marsh One-Day Cup finals.

Off the field, Gillespie is a valued member of the CA Umpire Leadership Group and possesses an outstanding attitude towards fitness, preparation and development.

Gillespie is also an active and willing supporter of pathway umpires and is currently at the National Championships in Mackay, acting as a mentor for less experienced umpires.

Scott Boland has been recognised for an incredible Ashes Series, winning his second Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year award.

On Test debut, Boland produced remarkable figures of 6-7 in the second innings of the Vodafone Boxing Day Test and was named the Johnny Mullagh medallist as player of the match.

The fast bowler went on to play in the remaining two Ashes Tests and claimed 18 wickets at an average of 9.76 over the course of the series.

Boland’s performances for Victoria helped the State to a Sheffield Shield Final appearance and saw him finish third in the Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year award.

Previously, Boland was an integral contributor in the Walkabout Wickets documentary on the 2018 Indigenous tour to the UK, which retraced the footsteps of the 1868 Aboriginal cricket team.

Victoria was named the winner of the Women’s Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award and finished on 61 points at the end of the WNCL season, with New South Wales four points behind in second place.

Queensland took out this year’s Men’s Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award, with a combined 232 points across the Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup competitions, nine points ahead of Tasmania.

In the Spirit of Cricket Awards, teams are awarded points across three categories at the end of each match, with Respect for Opponents, Respect for Umpires and Respect for the Game all measured.

CA Head of Cricket Operations, Peter Roach, said:

“Amidst significant challenges, the 2021-22 domestic season has been a great success and we have seen incredibly strong performances across all competitions.

“It is timely to say a big thank you to all players, coaches, support staff, match officials and administration staff who all came together to ensure that we had strong, competitive and vibrant domestic competitions – competitions that have always been and will always be vital to Australia presenting strong national teams.”

In addition to the aforementioned awards, CA would like to again congratulate the previously announced winners of this season’s awards.

2021-22 State Cricket Awards

Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Henry Hunt (South Australia) & Travis Dean (Victoria).

Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year – Erin Osborne (ACT).

Marsh One-Day Cup Players of the Year – Matthew Renshaw (Queensland).

Weber Women’s Big Bash League Player of the Year – Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades).

KFC Big Bash League Player of the Year – Ben McDermott (Hobart Hurricanes).

Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year – Scott Boland (Australia, Victoria, Hobart Hurricanes).

Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award (Men’s) – Queensland.

Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award (Women’s) – Victoria.

Cricket Australia Umpire Award – Phil Gillespie.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Senior Umpires Call Time

Photo Credit: ICC Bruce Oxenford and Paul Wilson, two of Australia’s most respected and long-serving umpires, have announced their retirements...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter