Melbourne Stars: 2022 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander T20 Cup set to begin

Must Read

Photo Credit: Melbourne Stars

Indigenous sides representing the Melbourne Stars, Melbourne Renegades, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder are set to take the field in Albury this week.The Stars will field a team comprised entirely of Indigenous cricketers, as the tournament begins on Tuesday. There will be a round robin format before finals take place on Wednesday to determine the winner of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander T20 Cup.

Wiradjuri man and Melbourne Stars T20 Cup Coach Jamie Jewiss said: 
“I am so excited to be able to coach the Melbourne Stars in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander T20 Cup. It’s going to be a very special tournament, not only to have so many nations coming together but also to have 4 sets of brothers playing in the same team. I can’t wait to see talent on show and hopefully we can help inspire Indigenous people all around Australia to come and try cricket wherever they are.”

The Stars will wear their Indigenous playing shirt from WBBL|07 and BBL|11. The playing shirt was designed by Ky-ya Ward. Ky-ya is a 20 year old Wurundjeri and Dja Dja Wurrung woman. Information on the design can be found below.

The star on the back represents Stars country, which is where Bunjil (the wedge tailed eagle) our creator spirit lives. The surrounding smaller stars represent the players of the Stars, coming from all different paths and places in life, but all being connected through cricket. The blue effect running through the centre represents the Birrarung (Yarra River) which is a very significant river to my people. The circles in the middle of the design represent the Stars family.

Melbourne Stars Squad
Luke Chandler (Wurundjeri)
Declan Jackson (Yorta Yorta)
Lachlan Jackson (Yorta Yorta)
Jaymon Jewiss (Wiradjuri)
Jesse Jewiss (Wiradjuri)    
Malik Keegan (Yorta Yorta)
Wade King (Ngiambia)
Travis King (Ngiambia)
Lachlan Liu (Bunurong)
Josh Nanson (Darug)
Tyler Nanson (Darug)

Melbourne Stars Fixtures
Tuesday 12th April
10am Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne Renegades
Billson Park, Albury, NSW
2pm Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers
Billson Park, Albury, NSW

Wednesday 13th April
9:30am Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder
Les Cheesely Oval, Albury, NSW
1:30pm Final 1 vs 2
Les Cheesely Oval, Albury, NSW
1:30pm Final 3 vs 4
Baranduda Fields, Albury, NSW


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: The Hundred teams announce retained players on Deadline Day

Photo Credit: ECB Men’s and women’s teams confirm retained players for fourth year of The Hundred 137 players have...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter