Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Cricket Australia announces National Community Cricket Award Winners

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia is delighted to announce the winners of the 2022 National Community Cricket Awards.

The final nominees were honoured at an online ceremony held during National Volunteers Week where the work of thousands of grassroots cricket volunteers across Australia was acknowledged.

The award winners were:

Community Coach of the Year

A coach who exemplifies coaching the Australian way. Someone who has gone out of their way to make sure that participants are supported to develop both their skills and a lifelong love of cricket.

Winner:  Ian Kenny (SA)
Runner up: Andrew Watson (QLD)

Women and Girls Initiative of the Year

Celebrating the outstanding delivery of female-based experiences by finding clever or innovative ways to engage and grow their program.

Winner: West Pennant Hills Cherrybrook Cricket Club (NSW)
Runner up: Tassie Superstars (Women’s Team) (TAS)

Community Cricket Club of the Year

A community cricket club that actively creates welcoming environments and seeks to create sustainable participation and growth through good governance, volunteer support and inclusive on field programs.

Winner: Warwick Greenwood Cricket Club (WA)
Runner up: Bega/Angledale Cricket Club (NSW/ACT)

Community Cricket Association of the Year

A cricket association that actively works to create sustainable competition that provides opportunities for everyone to have the chance to play cricket.

Winner: Barossa & Light Cricket Association (SA)
Runner up: Colac & District Cricket Association (VIC)

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year

Acknowledging the outstanding delivery of diverse and inclusive experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow offerings.

Winner: Mechelle Hare (NSW)
Runner up: Morphettville Park Cricket Club (SA)

Indoor Facility of the Year

An indoor facility that embraces the connection with the community and cricket to provide the best program experience to its participants.

Winner: Box Hill Action Indoor Sports (VIC)
Runner up: Mega Courts Indoor Sports (SA)

Junior Initiative of the Year

Acknowledging the outstanding delivery of junior cricket experiences by finding clever and innovative ways to engage and grow junior offerings with a focus on education, fun and social connection.

Winner: Herbert River Cricket Club (QLD)
Runner up: Wynyard Cricket Club (TAS)

Community Match Official of the Year

An umpire or match official (such as a scorer) who leads by example in championing safe, fair, and enjoyable cricket for all.

Winner: Darrell Holt (VIC)
Runner up: Greg Payne (QLD)

Partnership of the Year

Outstanding leadership and support in building community-based partnerships that provide positive outcomes to the cricket community.

Winner: Blind Cricket Tasmania (TAS)
Runner up: Townsville Western Suburbs + Garbutt Magpies (QLD)

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year

An individual, club or association who has used technology to create connection to its members, whether by reducing volunteer time, connecting members through social media, or enhancing participant experience.

Winner: WA Country Cricket Board (WA)
Runner up: Aaron Hagenbach (NSW/ACT)

Young Leader of the Year

A young person, under the age of 25, who positively impacts those around them through their off-field leadership in volunteering.

Winner: Neel Kalia (WA)
Runner up: Ellie Campbell (VIC)

Celebrating Cricket in Schools

Celebrating the connection between schools, students and the broader cricket community.

Winner: Wayne Shultz (VIC)
Runner up: Katie Liebelt (SA)

Toyota Volunteer of the Year

A volunteer who demonstrates their active involvement within their club through creating opportunity for all members, players, and families to feel supported and included.

Winner: Nicole Williams (SA)
Runner up: Sandra Hagerty (WA)

Congratulations on an amazing year and for your outstanding efforts across the country!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Adelaide Strikers: Wes Agar traded to Sydney Thunder

Photo Credit: Adelaide Strikers After eight seasons in blue the Adelaide Strikers are farewelling Wes Agar, with the fast bowler...

More Articles Like This