Friday, June 14, 2024

PCB: CCA U19 Tournament concludes in four jurisdictions

Must Read

Photo Credit: Pakistan Cricket Board

  • Rawalpindi beat Islamabad and Attock in the triangular stage to win Northern-leg
  • Khyber U19, Faisalabad U19 and Karachi Zone II crowned champions of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Central Punjab and Sindh jurisdictions respectively
  • All matches of the tournament are covered digitally with the live scores available on CricHQ
  • Urdu version is attached here

Rawalpindi won the Northern-leg of the City Cricket Association U19 Tournament 2022-23 by beating Islamabad and Attock in the triangular stage of the 50-over competition. Attock ended up taking the second spot in the triangular round beating Islamabad by three wickets in the last match of the leg today.

It was Rawalpindi’s captain Affan Ishaq’s all-round performance which helped his side win their second match of the triangular stage against Attock scoring a half-century and taking three wickets at the House of Northern on Tuesday.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s jurisdiction, Khyber U19 won the leg by beating Charsada by 79 runs in the final at the Sardheri Ground in Charsadda on Thursday. For the winning team, the star performers were captain Muhammad Salman who scored half-century and Riazullah, who picked four wickets.

In the Central Punjab-leg, Faisalabad U19 stood victorious by defeating Mandibahauddin by five wickets in the final held at the Ittefaq Cricket Ground today. Faisalabad’s triumph was driven by Muhammad Tayyab Ansar and Shuban Saeed’s three wickets each, and Muhammad Muaz starred with an unbeaten 51 to help his side chase down the target in the 45th over.

In Sindh, Karachi Zone II won the leg by beating Karachi Zone VI by 53 runs at the KCCA Ground in Karachi. Ali Hassan scored 92 not-out and Ziaullah snaffled six wickets to guide his side to victory.

Northern Cricket Association

In the three-group 11-team Northern-leg, Rawalpindi and Islamabad topped Pool A and Pool B with three wins from three matches respectively, while Attock topped Pool C with two wins from two outings.

In the batting charts, Rawalpindi’s Shahmeer Ali finished as the leading run-getter with 282 runs from five matches at 94 with 129 his best in the tournament. Shahmeer’s teammate Affan was second on the list with 269 runs from five matches with an undefeated 125 his highest score.

Rawalpindi also dominated the bowling charts with the top three wicket-takers from the same team. Usman Khan topped the table, taking 13 wickets from five matches, including one five-fer. Abdul Basit and Abu Zar shared the bowling honours with 10 wickets apiece.

Central Punjab Cricket Association

In the four-group 19-team Central Punjab-leg, Sheikhupura, Lahore Whites West Zone, Mandibahauddin and Faisalabad topped their respective groups before qualifying for the semi-finals. In the first semi-final, Mandibahauddin defeated Sheikhupura by seven wickets, while in the second semi-final Faisalabad defeated Lahore Whites West Zone by nine wickets.

In the batting charts, Sheikhupura’s Faraz Ahmed accumulated 388 runs from five matches at 97 with unbeaten 167 his best in the tournament. Obaid Shahid representing Lahore Whites West Zone scored 310 runs from five outings in the tournament, which included 137 his best. Haroon Ashraf representing Mandibahauddin finished with a tally of 230 runs from five matches at 76.67.

Among bowlers, Lahore Whites West Zone’s Muhammad Ahsan Kaleem bagged 15 wickets from five matches with four for 10 his best figures in the match. Mandibahauddin’s Ayub Khan picked 14 wickets from six matches, while Faisalabad’s Samama Riaz ended up taking 13 wickets from five outings in the tournament.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association

In the four-group 19-team Khyber Pakhtunkhwa-leg, Peshawar, D.I. Khan, Khyber and Charsada topped their respective groups before featuring in the semi-finals. In the first semi-final, Khyber defeated Peshawar by 22 runs. In the second semi-final, Charsada beat D.I. Khan by five wickets.

Shahzeb Khan representing Mansehra U19 topped the batting charts, scoring 352 runs from four matches at 88 with 119 his highest score. Shahzaib Hassan and Ali Azmat were next in line scoring 251 and 245 runs, respectively in the tournament.

Khyber’s Muhammad Zubair took 13 wickets from five outings while D.I. Khan’s Shahid Ali grabbed 12 wickets from five matches in the tournament. Nasrullah Khan representing Mardan took 11 wickets from four matches at an economy rate of 3.53.

Sindh Cricket Association

In the four-group 17-team Sindh-leg, Karachi Zone II, Karachi Zone VII, Hyderabad and Karachi Zone VI topped their respective groups before booking their place in the semi-finals. In the first semi-final, Karachi Zone II defeated Hyderabad by eight wickets while in the second semi-final Karachi Zone VI defeated Karachi Zone VII by four wickets.

Mirza Saad Baig representing Karachi Zone III led the batting charts with 432 runs from four outings which included unbeaten 251 his best and the tournament’s highest score so far. Karachi Zone II’s Muhammad Shahwaiz Yasir scored 275 runs from five matches at 68.75. Muhammad Hassan Iqbal from Karachi Zone III ended up taking third spot in the batting table with 202 runs from four matches at 50.50.

In the bowling charts, Naveed Ahmed Khan representing Karachi Zone VI topped the table with 14 wickets from four matches. Najaf Ali and Ziaullah representing Shikharpur and Karachi Zone II, respectively bagged 12 wickets each. Najaf’s eight wickets for nine is his best match figures in the tournament.

The final matches of the triangular stage of Balochistan and Southern Punjab will be played on June 4.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Cricket’s Golden Ticket launched as international cricket tickets go on sale

Photo Credit: Cricket Australia Fans have the chance to win cricket’s Golden Ticket and several merchandise packages as tickets...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter