Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Cricket NSW: Commonwealth Games gold medallists back for Breakers

Must Read

Photo Credit: Cricket NSW

Commonwealth Games gold medallists Alyssa Healy and Ashleigh Gardner will headline the first NSW Breakers squad of the 2022/23 Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) season.

Healy will captain the 13-player Breakers unit that will square off against Queensland Fire at North Sydney Oval on Friday September 23 and Sunday September 25.

Joining the two Australian women’s team stars in the squad are fellow nationally capped players Erin Burns and Hannah Darlington, while fast bowler Ebony Hoskin is a step closer to making her Breakers debut.

The uncontracted 19-year-old from Howlong, on the NSW-Victorian border, was named in the Breakers extended squad for several WNCL matches last summer but was not selected in the playing 11.

Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle and Emma Hughes were unavailable due to injury, while Saskia Horley is overseas representing Scotland and stalwart Rachael Haynes has retired from domestic one day cricket.

Breakers head coach Gavan Twining said the group would welcome back Healy and Gardner with open arms, while applauding the work Hoskin had done in the off-season to be on the doorstep of a maiden Breakers’ cap.

“Any time you can have players the calibre of Midge (Healy) and Ash come back into your team you are grateful,” Twining said.

“They are not only world class players on the field but they bring a high level of leadership and confidence to the playing group off the park too.

“Our group have performed really well in preparation for this season. They have been dedicated to the task of improving every single day and Ebony is one player who has exemplified that.

“Whether her opportunity comes during this first pair of matches this season or not, she has a lot of potential and is someone we are excited to see take her game to the next level.”

Spectator details for attending the matches will be released in the coming days.

NSW Breakers team to play Queensland Fire at North Sydney Oval on Friday September 23 and Sunday September 25:

1. Jade Allen
2. Maitlan Brown
3. Erin Burns
4. Hannah Darlington
5. Ashleigh Gardner
6. Alyssa Healy ©
7. Ebony Hoskin
8. Sammy-Jo Johnson
9. Anika Learoyd
10. Phoebe Litchfield
11. Claire Moore
12. Lauren Smith
13. Tahlia Wilson


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Cricket Australia: Australia A v India A Showdowns Part of the Blockbuster Indian Summer

Photo Credit: South Australian Cricket Association Two four-day matches between Australia A and India A and a three-day internal match...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter