Sunday, April 21, 2024

Cricket Australia squad announced for CommBank T20I Series, T20 World Cup defence

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 15-player squad for Australia’s three CommBank T20 Internationals against Pakistan from 24-29 January, with the same squad to travel to South Africa for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in February.  

Leg-spinner, Georgia Wareham returns from a long layoff after rupturing her ACL in October 2021, as does Alyssa Healy who is expected to overcome the calf injury she suffered in December in India.

Nicola Carey, Phoebe Litchfield and Amanda-Jade Wellington have not been named after being part of the side that last played in India, while Kim Garth and Heather Graham hold their spots after making their T20I debuts in December.

The squad is:

Meg Lanning (VIC/Box Hill CC) – captain

Alyssa Healy (NSW/Sydney CC) – vice-captain

Darcie Brown (SA/Northern Districts CC)

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW/Bankstown CC)

Kim Garth (VIC/Dandenong CC)

Heather Graham (TAS/Clarence CC)

Grace Harris (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)

Jess Jonassen (QLD/Valleys CC)

Alana King (WA/Midland Guildford CC)

Tahlia McGrath (SA/Glenelg CC)

Beth Mooney (WA/Sandgate-Redcliff CC)

Ellyse Perry (VIC/Dandenong CC)

Megan Schutt (SA/Sturt CC)

Annabel Sutherland (VIC/Prahran CC)

Georgia Wareham (VIC/Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC)

Speaking on the squad, National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“It’s always tough to narrow a squad down to just 15 players, but we’re confident we’ve picked a well-balanced side that’s well placed for the series against Pakistan and ready to challenge for a third consecutive T20 title.    

“Seeing Meg and Georgia back in action for Victoria has been exciting. Both bring a wealth of experience to the group, which is always crucial during major tournaments.

“Georgia in particular, has had a tough run of injuries, but she’s shown a great deal of resilience and her return is a real boost for the side.

“Alyssa and Jess are expected to be fully fit and firing after minor injuries as well, so we’ve got a full-strength squad with plenty of variety with both bat and ball if required.

“Heather and Kim both impressed when given the chance during the India series, and we know they are ready to perform their role if the opportunity presents.

“Unfortunately, there was no room for Nicola, Phoebe or Amanda-Jade, but they’re still well and truly in our plans and are on standby should they be required.”

Australia will begin its World Cup defence on 12 February against Trans-Tasman rivals, New Zealand, before rounding out the pool games against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and South Africa.


CommBank Series v Pakistan

13 January: Governor-General’s XI v Pakistan, 10:05am, Allan Border Field, Brisbane

16 January: 1st ODI, 10:05am, Allan Border Field, Brisbane

18 January: 2nd ODI, 10:05am, Allan Border Field, Brisbane

21 January: 3rd ODI, 10:05am, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

24 January: 1st T20I, 2:05pm, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

26 January: 2nd T20I, 7:05pm, Blundstone Arena, Hobart

29 January 3rd T20I, 2:05pm, Manuka Oval, Canberra

*All times are local

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

12 February: Australia v New Zealand, 7pm local time (4am AEDT), Boland Park, Paarl

15 February: Australia v Bangladesh, 7pm local time (4am AEDT), St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

16 February: Sri Lanka v Australia, 3pm local time (12am AEDT), St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth

19 February: South Africa v Australia, 7pm local time (4am AEDT), St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

ECB: Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy 2024 – team-by-team guide

Photo Credit: ECB The Blaze Previewed by Jon Culley - ECB Reporters Network Captain: Kirstie Gordon Head Coach: Chris Guest 2023 finish: Runners-up 2023 highest...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter