Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Melbourne Stars at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Must Read

Photo Credit: Melbourne Stars

Six Melbourne Stars players are set to feature at the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup across three nations.


Australia are aiming for a T20 World Cup ‘three-peat’ following their titles in 2018 and 2020. 

With five championships Australia are the most successful team at the T20 World Cup and have made the final in every tournament except for the first edition in 2009. Australia have an incredible winning percentage of 77 at the event. 

Meg Lanning will lead Australia again at the 2023 T20 World Cup, having played in five editions of the tournament for four titles and was captain for three of those T20 World Cup wins.

The batter holds the record for the highest individual score at the Women’s T20 World Cup hitting 126 from 65 against Ireland in 2014. 

Annabel Sutherland was part of the Australian squad for the 2020 T20 World Cup playing three matches and will be hoping to have a larger role in the upcoming tournament. 

Kim Garth could make a T20 World Cup debut for Australia, having previously represented Ireland at the 2016 and 2018 T20 World Cups. The all-rounder bowled Lanning in the 2016 tournament and will now line up alongside the Australian captain. 


The champions of the inaugural Women’s T20 World Cup have made the final a further three times since but have been unable to claim another title.  

Alice Capsey is set to make her T20 World Cup debut having returned from a collarbone injury to be named in England’s squad. 

It will be a third T20 World Cup for Lauren Winfield-Hill who represented England in the 2018 and 2020 editions. 


After falling short in the 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup final at the MCG, India will be hoping to go one better in 2023 and win their first title. 

Jemimah Rodrigues has played in two T20 World Cups with a high score of 59 as part of a 134-run partnership at the 2018 tournament. 

The 2023 ICC Women’s World Cup begins on Friday 10 February with South Africa taking on Sri Lanka. 

Australia will face New Zealand for their opening clash on Saturday February 11 at 7pm local time (Sunday Feb 12 4am AEDT).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

DerbyshireCCC: Apprentice Grounds Person

Posted: 10 June 2024 Link to Apply: https://cricket.derbyshireccc.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Apprentice-Grounds-Person-JD-2024.pdf Job Title: Apprentice Grounds Person Reporting to: Head Grounds Person Full or Part time position:...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter