Wednesday, June 19, 2024

ECB: UAE Women’s squad for Uganda and Namibia T20 Tournaments announced

Must Read

Photo Credit: Emirates Cricket Board

Chaya Mughal to captain the team, UAE to play a minimum of 10 T20Is in the two tournaments  

As part of the plan to promote and develop women’s cricket, the Emirates Cricket Board is sending a 14-member women’s squad for two T20 women’s tournaments which will be played in Uganda and Namibia. Chaya Mughal will captain the team. The UAE Women’s team travels to Uganda later today (Saturday).  

The five-team T20 tournament in Uganda includes Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda and UAE besides the hosts. UAE will play Kenya in their opening match on 18 April followed by matches against Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda on 19, 20 and 21 April. The tournament final will be played on 23 April.

The four-team quadrangular T20 tournament in Namibia will be played on a double-league basis with each team playing the rest twice. UAE take on Uganda in their tournament opener on 25 April. 

The eight-day tournament concludes on 2 May with third place match between the third and fourth positioned teams at the end of the group stage followed by the final. 

UAE Women’s Captain Chaya Mughal: “These two tournaments provide us an excellent opportunity of further improving our skills and gaining invaluable experience of international cricket. We have a balanced squad which includes quality players who are the future of UAE cricket. 

“Our aim would be to take maximum advantage of these two events and test our cricketing skills, fitness and game awareness with an aim of lifting the two trophies. We have worked hard in recent days and have focused extensively on skill development and fitness, I am confident that the team will fare well on both tours.” 

UAE Women’s squad for Uganda and Namibia tours: Chaya Mughal (captain), Esha Rohit Oza (vice-captain), Archara Supriya, Avanee Sunit Patel, Geethika Jyothis, Indhuja Nandakumar, Kavisha Kumari, Khushi Mohan Sharma, Lavanya Keny, Rinitha Rajith, Rishita Rajith, Sanchin, Theertha Satish and Vaishnave Mahesh.

Victoria Series 2023 in Uganda – UAE matches:

18 April – UAE vs Kenya

19 April – Tanzania vs UAE

20 April – Uganda vs UAE

21 April – Rwanda vs UAE

23 April – Final

Capricorn Women’s Quadrangular 2023 in Namibia – UAE matches:

25 April – Uganda vs UAE

26 April – UAE vs Hong Kong

27 April – Namibia vs UAE

29 April – UAE vs Uganda 

30 April – Namibia vs UAE

1 May – UAE vs Hong Kong

2 May – Third place and final


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Indian T20 World Cup sponsors user clever tactics to save on spend

Indian brands looking to reach an Indian audience during the ongoing 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup have discovered...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter