Perth Scorchers: Local Talents Locked In

Must Read

Photo Credit: Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers have added local depth to their playing squad ahead of the Weber WBBL|09 season, securing exciting allrounder Chloe Ainsworth and experienced batter Lisa Griffith.

Ainsworth’s two-year deal is her first in the WBBL, tying the talented 18-year-old to the Scorchers until at least the end of WBBL|10.

It caps off a whirlwind 12 months for the Melville product, with her outstanding WA Premier Cricket form earning a Women’s National Cricket League debut against Queensland last December, aged just 17.

Ainsworth impressed again in her second WNCL appearance, taking 3-27 from eight overs against Victoria last month, including the key wickets of dangerous Australia pair Annabel Sutherland and Ellyse Perry.

She also collected 10 wickets at 15.10 and tallied 175 runs at 35 for WA in the 2022-23 CA Under-19 National Championships.

Perth Scorchers Memberships, and tickets for every Perth Scorchers Weber WBBL|09 and KFC BBL|13 match are now available. Don’t miss your chance to be part of the Orange Army this season.

Meanwhile, Griffith has signed a one-year deal ahead of WBBL|09, off the back of an impressive start to the season for WA.

Griffith was part of Perth’s title-winning WBBL|07 side and returned from injury last season to win the Karen Read Medal as the best and fairest female player in WA Premier Cricket.

The powerful right-hander tallied 379 runs at 47.38 for Subiaco-Floreat in the A-Grade T20 competition and made several meaningful contributions in WA colours.

Perth Scorchers General Manager – High Performance Cricket & Elite Teams Kade Harvey said:

“We are delighted to sign Chloe and Lisa with our final domestic list spots, which shows the strength of our WNCL program.

“Lisa is a very reliable middle order batter who will add a great amount of experience and knowledge to our batting group.

“It is also exciting for Chloe to get her first WBBL contract at the age of 18. She is a highly talented cricketer who can bowl with good pace and accuracy, and she adds great depth to our fast-bowling stocks.

“We can’t wait to see her showcase her skills for the Scorchers over the next two seasons.”

Perth Scorchers squad for WBBL|09
Chloe Ainsworth
Charis Bekker
Stella Campbell
Piepa Cleary
Maddy Darke
Sophie Devine (Captain; International – New Zealand)
Amy Edgar
Lisa Griffith
Amy Jones (International – England)
Alana King
Lilly Mills
Beth Mooney
Taneale Peschel
Chloe Piparo

The Scorchers begin their WBBL|09 season with a two-match road trip against Hobart Hurricanes (October 20, UTAS Stadium) and Brisbane Heat (October 22, North Sydney Oval), before returning home to host the Hurricanes on 25 October at the WACA Ground.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Dolphins Cricket: Maharaj to lead Hollywoodbets Dolphins in T20 Challenge

Photo Credit: Gallo Images The Hollywoodbets Dolphins proudly name number one ranked ICC ODI bowler Keshav Maharaj as captain for...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter