Cricket Ireland: All you need to know – Ireland Women v Scotland Women series

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sportsfile

Ireland Women head to Spain on Sunday ahead of their multi-format series against Scotland – with the historic ODI series starting on Tuesday 17 October 2023.

The ‘Women’s ODI and T20I Celtic Challenge’ will feature five matches over ten days, including three ODIs – the first official ODI fixtures for Scotland Women since gaining full ODI status in 2022 – and two T20Is. 

Ireland and Scotland met in a 2023 Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Abu Dhabi in September 2022, with Ireland coming out on top by 19 runs. Gaby Lewis (66) and Orla Prendergast (55*) both scoring half-centuries in that game.

Prior to that meeting the sides met for a three-match T20 series, with Ireland coming out on top in a rain-affected series 2-0.

Ireland will once again be captained by Leinster Cricket Club’s Laura Delany, and she will joined by her club-mate, 19 year-old wicket-keeper batter Joanna Loughran, who has been called up for the first time. Bready’s Alana Dalzell returns to the squad for the first time since the South Africa series in June 2022.

The series will take place at Desert Springs, in Almeria, Spain.


One-Day Internationals (ODIs):

  • 17 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 1st ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.45am local time)
  • 19 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 2nd ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.45am local time)
  • 21 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 3rd ODI (Desert Springs; starts 10.45am local time)

T20 International (T20Is):

  • 23 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 1st T20I (Desert Springs; starts 2pm local time)
  • 24 October: Ireland Women v Scotland Women – 2nd T20I (Desert Springs; starts 2pm local time)


Ireland Women’s squad
Laura Delany (captain), Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Joanna Loughran, Sophie MacMahon, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Freya Sargent, Rebecca Stokell.

Scotland Women’s squad
Kathryn Bryce (captain), Olivia Bell, Sarah Bryce, Darcey Carter, Priyanaz Chatterji, Maryam Faisal, Lorna Jack, Ailsa Lister, Abtaha, Maqsood, Megan McColl, Hannah Rainey, Niamh Robertson-Jack, Nayma Sheikh, Ellen Watson.


  • Match updates can be found on Cricket Ireland’s social media channels, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.
  • Livescoring will be available via our Match Centre.
  • There will be free entry for spectators.
  • An announcement about further coverage options will be made shortly.

Thanks to our sponsor:

Ireland Women’s cricket team is proudly supported by Certa – Ireland’s largest fuel supplier. Certa, which is part of DCC plc, is a new brand operating in the fuel, home, business and lubricants space with a vision to become Ireland’s most progressive energy company. It operates Ireland’s largest network of unmanned, pay@pump forecourts and home heating depots. See a recent video campaign Certa and Cricket Ireland collaborated on.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

Karachi Kings: Muhammad Irfan Khan wants to follow Shoaib Malik’s footsteps

Photo Credit: Karachi Kings Karachi Kings’ young middle-order batter Muhammad Irfan Khan on Thursday, revealed his plans to serve Pakistan...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter