Sydney Sixers’ Abbott named for T20 Tour of India

Must Read

Photo Credit: Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers’ stalwart Sean Abbott has been named by the National Selection Panel (NSP) in a 15-player squad for the men’s Qantas T20 Tour of India in November/December.

Australia plays five T20 Internationals against India following the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. Fixtures can be found HERE.

Abbott is part of the Australian squad at the World Cup but is yet to start a match. The fast-bowling all-rounder has made some magnificent contributions in the field however, often used as Australia’s first choice substitute fielder.

The T20 series in India will be the perfect preparation for Abbott prior to returning to Sydney for the start of KFC BBL|13, where he will begin the summer as the League’s leading wicket taker.

Matthew Wade will captain the side for the series.

Chair of Selectors, George Bailey said:

“It’s an experienced squad with a mixture of players who have had their first opportunity on the international stage and that we hope will continue to develop into important players in our T20 group.

“Matthew has captained the team previously, is a leader in the group and we look forward to him taking the reins for this series. Like Mitch Marsh in the South Africa series, this is another great opportunity to further deepen our international leadership experience and depth.

“It’s always a great challenge to take on India on their home soil. Most of the squad have extensive experience in playing in India, including eight members of the current ODI World Cup squad, alongside Tanveer Sangha who is currently a travelling reserve.”

Australian men’s squad for the Qantas T20 Tour of India:

Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes / Clarence Cricket Club) (c)

Jason Behrendorff (Perth Scorchers / Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)

Sean Abbott (Sydney Sixers / Parramatta District Cricket Club)

Tim David (Hobart Hurricanes / Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club)

Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes / Lindisfarne Cricket Club)

Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers / Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)

Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers / Joondalup Cricket Club) 

Spencer Johnson (Brisbane Heat / West Torrens Cricket Club)

Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars / Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)

Tanveer Sangha (Sydney Thunder / Campbelltown Camden District Cricket Club)

Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers / Northcote Cricket Club)

Steve Smith (NSW / Sutherland Cricket Club) 

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars / Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club) 

David Warner (Sydney Thunder / Randwick Petersham Cricket Club) 

Adam Zampa (Melbourne Renegades / Sutherland Cricket Club)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

become a cricexec insider!

Join for free and get:

  • The cricexec “daily briefing” newsletter
  • Exclusive industry reports
  • Invitations to industry events
  • Early access to industry job postings
  • Many other benefits!

Latest News

CSA mourns the passing of Umpire, Shaun George

Photo Credit: Lee Warren - Gallo Image/Cricket South Africa It is with deep sadness and heavy hearts that Cricket South...

More Articles Like This

Cricexec Newsletter